Archive for January 14, 2010

SPIRIT OF THE DECADE: The real problem with moe


The problem with moe isn’t really the fact that it’s “degrading” Japanese animation. If you want that I’ll talk on length about Aki Sora, now THAT’S DEGRADING. Japanese animation has always catered to the tastes of the “ignored” minority and not to global audiences.

The real problem is that there’s too much of it on the market. Yes, even if we factor in the fact that Japanese animation has always catered to the tastes of the “ignored” minority in Japan and not to global audiences, there’s still way too much of it. Too much for even me, and I don’t exactly have high standards.

And as I’ve recently relearnt, too much of a good thing is bad for you.

Well, I can name at least 3 moe shows that jive with me, 2 that I’m still considering, and one show that I’ll say is the culmination of what happened after Haruhi showed the world that moe makes money. Said 3 shows being ARIA (YES, AKARI IS MOE, SHUT UP), Hidamari Sketch and Bamboo Blade. (Also Strike Witches hurrhurrhurr)

And no matter how many people think anime is supposed to be “deep” and “thought-provoking”, well… … …

In Japan, Eva was all about TEH REI, TEH ASUKA and the gorram Evas. In America, Eva is considered to be “deep” and “meaningful”.

There’s also the fact that very few shows can actually provoke soul-searching. No matter how much I keep saying planetarian changed my life, the fact remains that it’s still a “game” that panders to otaku and how much they want to cry. That, and the only reason why it could change my life is because (brace for it) it’s probably my destiny (to put it in a way that pleases people) to be moved by the game in that manner.

But I’m going way off topic.  Here’s the problem.

If I see way too many freaking Walkmans on the market, I’ll probably be sick of Walkmans and Walkman-related products, advertising, and so on, and may start to develop a hatred of Walkmans as a result of it being too popular. And me being sick of Walkmans.

It’s the same thing about moe. Even though some people are thinking it’s ruining anime. Those people are missing the point.

January 14, 2010 at 12:00 pm 2 comments


I’M IN THE ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRMY.

And the prophet spake, saying: "Frak this, for my faith is a shield proof against your blandishments!"

- Alem Mahat, The Book of Cain, Chapter IV, Verse XXI

Email: DrmChsr0atgmaildotcom (at=@, dot=.)

RSS HAMSTER SOUNDBITES.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Who needs a calendar?

January 2010
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

The stale pile of randomness

I have been anally violated

  • 547,241 times OMG

Random Mumblings

blackhater on The Visual Novel Community Hat…

HEE HEE HEE.