12 Moments of Anime: HOW IT ALL BEGAN

December 25, 2009 at 11:54 pm Leave a comment


Day 12 of THE 12 MOMENTS OF ANIME, SPONSORED BY CCY.

I’m probably the only person to link my hobbies to religion.

Unfortunately, if I told you because of it, I have gained a new appreciation for animé, you’d call me crazy. But it’s true.

And if I told you I’m Christian, you’ll probably sneer at me and think me a loony, even though what I just said is all true and I’m not a bloody fundie.

It’s strange, really, because I’m the only guy who can claim to be a Christian and still consider myself to be an animé fanatic, even though most conservative Christians (at least, as much as I know) tend to stay away from the medium due to preconceived notions. Which are not incorrect, especially if one looks into the history of art and eroticism in Japan. To say Japan is sick in the head is an understatement.

And yet, I’m at a rather unique crossroad, where it was due to my hobbies bringing me to faith, as opposed to the more conventional methods of coming to faith, so…

Maybe a quick rundown as to HOW I GOT THERE would suffice.

  • 2006-ish: Got my hands on a copy of Planetarian, with English patch.
  • 6 December 2006: Played it again, still didn’t know why.
  • 25 December 2006: Did I mention I returned to church on this day?
  • 31 December 2006: Woo.
  • Also not mentioned: Being exposed to religion as a young kid. Both the pagan and not-so-pagan sides.

I think it was CS Lewis who said this.

“I believe in Christianity as I believe that the sun has risen: Not only because I see it, but because by it I see everything else.”

I take the same approach. Not many will take the this approach, but then again, when your luminaries are famous trolls, an apathethic faggot, and uncontrollable firebrands with sticks in their butts, not to mention the Danny Choo wannabes, Sankaku Complex and, well, a so-called community driven more by flaming and trolling than enjoying animé, one has to wonder why we’re such a miserable.

Merry Christmas, and a Happy New Year. Or maybe not. It was rather interesting racking my brains embarking on this project, even through a raoring fever. It helps when one of your posts is simply a picspam.

Entry filed under: 12 Days. Tags: .

12 Moments of Anime: Anime Festival Asia 2009 The Hamster’s Guide to Better Commenting for 2010

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’M IN THE ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRMY.

And the prophet spake, saying: "Frak this, for my faith is a shield proof against your blandishments!"

- Alem Mahat, The Book of Cain, Chapter IV, Verse XXI

Email: DrmChsr0atgmaildotcom (at=@, dot=.)

RSS HAMSTER SOUNDBITES.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Who needs a calendar?

December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

The stale pile of randomness

I have been anally violated

  • 541,039 times OMG

UNOWN, I CHOOSE YOU

HEE HEE HEE.


