12 Moments in Anime: The Otaku Elimination Game

December 14, 2009 at 12:00 pm Leave a comment


Day 1 of THE 12 MOMENTS OF ANIME, SPONSORED BY CCY.

I’m actually conflicted about the “Otaku Elimination Game”.

On one hand, I would love to see the site turn into a legitimate critic of the community. They have talent, drive and most of all, they know what they want to do. (I wish the same could be said of me, though).

I want to see what they could become. Nothing wrong with being Simon Cowell, really. Guy may be harsh, but at least his criticism tries to be as constructive as possible.  And for all I know, the community really could use harsh constructive criticism. If all we’re going to “worship” is the likes of Darkmirage, Owen “saturnine” S, Author, and Danny Choo. And Sankaku Complex.

On the other hand, all they have been doing is basically third-rate trolling. And being an Internet hate machine. And being as offensive as possible while trying to do the equivalent of trying to impose what seems to be their definition of “otaku”.

There’s also the amount of contempt they show over people they hate. (Except probably Artefact, but in his defense, he probably deserves it.) It borders on childishness and stupidity.

Worse still, they actually have fun with what seems to be making fun of stupid people. And then having fun at their expense.

I can’t say I really enjoy the site at all. I mean, sure, it was hilarious early on, when it wasn’t clear that they were dead serious about it and were ripping into people, but then, somewhere along the line, something went horribly, horribly wrong. Right around the third round.

It goes without saying I await my turn when it comes, but I can’t help shake the feeling of dread and terror that accompanies the anticipation. It feels like I’m waiting for the executioner’s rather than for a test result.

And we’re done with Day 1. Next up: Why one rarely acknowledges the mistakes of one’s youth.

Entry filed under: 12 Days. Tags: .

So many words, so little time: In support of the 12 Moments of anime 12 Moments in Anime: wildarmsheero

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’M IN THE ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRMY.

And the prophet spake, saying: "Frak this, for my faith is a shield proof against your blandishments!"

- Alem Mahat, The Book of Cain, Chapter IV, Verse XXI

Email: DrmChsr0atgmaildotcom (at=@, dot=.)

RSS HAMSTER SOUNDBITES.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Who needs a calendar?

December 2009
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

The stale pile of randomness

I have been anally violated

  • 541,050 times OMG

UNOWN, I CHOOSE YOU

HEE HEE HEE.


