Hurr Hurr Hurr Copyrights.

March 9, 2009 at 8:00 am Leave a comment


kuklabase

Exalted. Always making dead memes moar ausum. (1)

People bitch too much about copyrights. Stuff like oppression, denial of rights and all that junk. Unfortunately we have made the issue so highly ppolarized and politicized that both sides have become somewhat similar to FUKKEN AL-QAEDA in terms of extremism. (Debate turns people into terrorists, more at 11.)

Unfortunately, some of us here require more than rhetoric, swear words, dented egos and snobbery here, so I’ve decided to… … …

ACTUALLY LOOK AT WHAT LOCAL LAWS SAY ABOUT IT. With help from the Berne Convention (1979 Revision.) Case law included. I think.

I dunno about other countries, they may or may not follow the Singapore Copyright Act (I know the Aussies do), because that’s where I come from.

Let’s get started.

Part IV, Division 5, Sect. 105, states that we break the law IF we either sell digital THINGS we GRABBED OFF THE INTERNET or seeing said THINGS in public via a trade exhibition (like AFA) (also a good idea to not play your digitally-grabbed Touhou game in public. That is really stupid, even if no one knows.)

105(2)(b) is interesting, though. It implies that your digitally-gotten things might be ILLEGAL if it prejudicialy affects the owner. But then again, this is worded so vaguely, no one knows what kind of prejudice it could be. And as we all know, potential profits are not a very good reason (but no one has any common sense now).

Fun fact: An NDS R4 (and all related devices) is considered illegal in Singapore since, I dunno, YOU CAN BUY THE GAME OFF THE SHELVES? Sometimes, cheapskate lazy people need to remember that buying games isn’t a bad thing altogether. If the game is any good. Unless you can’t find the game without trawling eBay. Or wasting time and money and dodging the Customs cops. eBay is dangerous. I cannot find a legal copy of Rocket Slime in Singapore.

Now we move on to Section 110. Animébloggers, take a breather: We’re reviewing bloody animé. HOME FREE BABY. HA HA HA I R ANIMUBLOGGA I REVIEW ANIMUS. :3

Section 114, domestic use clause, aka home use. I’m not too sure about this. If I asked someone to make a private recording in Japan for my own viewing, I’m home free, but fansubs are not for private use. So what happens then? We look at 105(2)(b).

…This sucks.

As for Berne, well, fansubs smash Article 8 to bits. But the additions hurt my head.

Oh well.

633557863657958082-banebladeforwhenyourefinallysickofholdingthelinemotivatorI AM SICK OF HOLDING THIS LINE.

1. I DO NOT KNOW WHO MADE THIS. PLS TO BE OWNING UP OWNERSHIP PLOX. Also Ketchup Kejax = Chejop Kejak, Kukla = GIANT ASS DRAGON

DIS CLAIMER: I AM NOT A LAWYER NOR AM I TRAINED TO BE A LAWYER NOR AM I A LAW STUDENT NOR AM I A SHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARK.
PLEASE TO NOT BE USING THIS AS LEGAL COUNSEL.

Entry filed under: Anime, Bitching.

MOONLIGHT CRRRRRRRRRRRADL- wut SCREW META, I WANT TO DERP

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’M IN THE ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRMY.

And the prophet spake, saying: "Frak this, for my faith is a shield proof against your blandishments!"

- Alem Mahat, The Book of Cain, Chapter IV, Verse XXI

Email: DrmChsr0atgmaildotcom (at=@, dot=.)

RSS HAMSTER SOUNDBITES.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Who needs a calendar?

March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

The stale pile of randomness

I have been anally violated

  • 541,988 times OMG

UNOWN, I CHOOSE YOU

HEE HEE HEE.


