Slaves to our ideals

July 1, 2008 at 3:53 am 1 comment


It’s a funny thing, really.

These past few weeks of sheer inaction, my writing skills paralyzed by my inability to be a hypocrite (and partly due to a massive rocking of my religious faith), has made me sit down and analyze a few articles regarding otaku and some other stuff.

And I realized something. For those of us who do not know God (or hide under the veil of religion, real established religion, not crazy ideas like Scientology and Haruhiism), we are naught but slaves to our ideals.

I’ll use a fresh example from the computer world, namely, the open-source movement, where the proponents of the open-source movement are truly slaves to their own ideals.

Linux developers are pissed at the fact that nVidia refuses to release the code for their drivers. Instead of realizing the fact that there’s probably some trade secrets that nVidia are loath to share (due to, I dunno because it gives them a competitive edge?), they decide to launch a crusade on nVidia.

How dare the CEO of nVidia deny to us open-source developers what we deem is ENTITLED TO US holy and valiant defenders of corporate tyranny! NVidia dares defy us, the crusaders of the Gnu Public License? We’ll show this multinational company the power of the whiny, complacent Linux developer who deems it THEIR RIGHT to have FREE ACCESS TO THESE DRIVERS?

I swear, I think this is what they really are saying.

The biggest irony is that in doing so, they’ve just shown themselves to be nothing more than whiny immature children, who throw temper tantrums and the like when they are denied something. And on a somewhat related note, they even fail  to see their shortcomings as well.

What does this have to do with otaku? Absolutely everything.

The whole fansub debate, when you realize it, resembles our Linux developers launching a crusade against nVidia. The same immature attitudes, the same kind of mud-flinging, the same kind of childish retorts (albeit structured to sound as if there’s a mature person behind these words), and worse still, it’s not just one side, it’s both sides that act in this manner. Instead of realizing that there is the potential for harm (for in our hearts, we do evil whether we like it or not), we go on with our childish quarrels, fueled by delusions of grandeur.

To be honest we’re no different from the Linux developers. We’re nothing but slaves to our ideals. Ideals that we’d ditch at the drop of a hat when presented with another thing.

But eh, who am I kidding? Continue to be slaves to your ideals. I alone can’t change your thinking, or lay you so low that you begin to realize what a fool you’ve become. Continue to idolize and worship the false things you think is worthy to be idolized. After all, you’re the one doing the time when all is said and done.

The only thing i can say to you is this: I hope your punishment is not going to be too harsh.

Entry filed under: Bitching.

Singapore Toy and Comic Cpnvention in a sentence Rape fantasies, oh my!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Tyrenol  |  July 1, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    I just met a homeless man sleeping in an area in back of a place I work at. He was fired form Starbucks recently.

    He was fired from Starbucks recently.

    HE WAS FIRED FROM STARBUCKS RECENTLY.

    Now, I don’t know if what I said had anything to do with your topic. I know that my Vista-having PC works fine. And all I need to do is pay for software. So, meh…

    These kids (or mentally-challenged, lazy-arse otaku-tachi) whine when the “free-Free-FREE” doors close on them. Yet… I whine when I get from the same doors “what I payed for;” tons of straight garbage.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’M IN THE ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRMY.

And the prophet spake, saying: "Frak this, for my faith is a shield proof against your blandishments!"

- Alem Mahat, The Book of Cain, Chapter IV, Verse XXI

Email: DrmChsr0atgmaildotcom (at=@, dot=.)

RSS HAMSTER SOUNDBITES.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Who needs a calendar?

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

The stale pile of randomness

I have been anally violated

  • 541,987 times OMG

UNOWN, I CHOOSE YOU

HEE HEE HEE.


