Guns do not kill people, PEOPLE DO.

May 31, 2008 at 8:58 pm 11 comments


Ahem.

It has come to my attention that there is a bigger asshole than that Zac Ber***** fellow. In fact, he would agree with this guy, and hire him.

ANN’s hiring standards aside, I feel that I have something to say.

Translation errors? Don’t care, and I can ask people.

Notes? Stick them in a .txt file, a pdf, in front or behind the show, or in the show itself? Don’t really care either way. I read fast.

Typesetting? Helps a bit, but not everyone took a crash course in graphic design.

Professionalism? After Odex, the people who claim to be for me had better prove their worth or else.

Effects? I watch the whole thing for the music mind you. Also, what effects? WHAT EFFECTS.

Putting their own names before the creators? Minor issue, but that’s rectified by fansubbers translating the credits as well. Also, don’t tell no one wants to leave their names on anything. The Greeks did it, the Egyptians did it, the Norse did (I guess), heck even the Chinese did (though they burnt most of it lol).

Leaving words in/untranslated/whatever? Don’t care.

No one wants to get into animé because of such things? LOL WUT.

Which leads me to the main point of my argument.

Guns do not kill people, PEOPLE DO.

In the same vein, we can deduce thus:

Fansubs are not ruining animé, PEOPLE ARE.

The way I see it, fansubs run on market forces. Or at least a twisted, anarchic version of capitalism. If people want crappy subs with shiny effects and a fast release cycle (meaning lousy translations), then the fansubbers will meet that demand (which is the case here.). if people want decent subs, simple subtitles and few or non-existent effects with a slow release cycle (meaning better translations), then the fansubbers will go with the market flow (Not the case here).

Then again, this isn’t about the subs themselves. It’s about the fansubbers. And people like him.

Do I have to repeat myself 5 times before I start anew? (tl;dr: fansubbers are egoistical jerks and we should beat some sense into them.)

Sigh, no matter. No one will listen anyway, so I’ll yell myself hoarse again.

Fansubbers and people like that supposed Otaking today are nothing but egoistical bastards who care only for their supposed ’status’, aka, how many people grab their stuff each time it is released. In order to secure this supposed ’status’, they will do whatever it takes, even to the point of starting internets drama and all that jazz. Yep, all for a bunch of numbers that mean absolutely nothing in the real world.

And when someone tells us that a certain fansub group is bad, well most of the time they are right, assuming you have a few unbiased sources. Unfortunately, it’s all just a ploy to prop up their meaningless lives. Never mind the fact they are making all that fuss over something that is free, technically illegal, and definitely not worth all the bluster over.

Yes people, today’s fansubbers and people like this supposed Otaking, at least a fair percentage of them, are nothing but fascist egoist attention whores. This is not a criticism about fansubbing, but it is a criticism about attitudes in fansubbing. I still hold fansubbers with a fair amount of respect, but sometimes, the truth must be told.

It does not matter if you are industry fag, an entitlement fag or somewhere in between. We’re all equally faggy. In my opinion all of us have no right to stir up this much drama for no good reason.

Frankly, I’m tired of this stupid word war. If you’re not going to put your words into practice, then fuck off. Yes, just go away and never darken our doorsteps again. actions speak louder than words, so are you going to step it up, supposed Otaking?

And Hinano, I’m sorely disappointed.

Entry filed under: Bitching.

SO TSUNDERE: A look at animé female archetypes The Angriest rant in the world

11 Comments Add your own

  • 2. lolikitsune  |  May 31, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    Unfortunately for your argument, Drm, guns help.

    Reply
  • 3. Hinano  |  May 31, 2008 at 10:18 pm

    I don’t know why you’re disappointed when I can relate most of what he says to my own former fansubbing. When my goal was to put out a translation for those who did not speak Japanese, not to try to show my epen0r with stupid effects and weeaboo speak (bento? jiichan? give me a break)

    Reply
  • 4. drmchsr0  |  May 31, 2008 at 11:25 pm

    Ahem.

    Hinano, I know you can relate to him on some level. Heck I can understand where he’s coming from.

    But the thing is this: By agreeing with him, you pretty much say you can’t put the past down. Didn’t you say your fansubbing days are over?

    I do apologize if I have got onto your nerves, though. It really wasn’t my intention to begin with.

    Reply
  • 5. Lord Tyrenol  |  May 31, 2008 at 11:32 pm

    Get bizzy on dat bullhorn, Derm Chesser Zero! However:

    #1: We’re already going to Hades’ in a handbasket.
    #1a: Someone said “Haters of Eva are in self denial.”
    #1b: “Kodomo No Jigan” had been created and animated.
    #1c: Zac of ANN IS a still the AssholeKing.

    #2: I would like to make this announcement that I WON. Ripping off someone else’s LiveJournal and being an ass who lacks creativity will not help you solve your PR problem.

    #3: “Don’t kill ’em yet,” says the Riddler to 2-Face. “If you do, then they won’t learn their lesson.”

    Reply
  • 6. blissmo  |  June 1, 2008 at 5:53 pm

    @ drmchsr0: I AGREE with the stuff u said lols

    I will never complain about free food unless it’s poisoned though …

    Reply
  • […] http://www.furuanimepanikku.com/2008/05/31/stop-complaining-and-watch-more-anime/ https://drmchsr0.wordpress.com/2008/05/31/guns-do-not-kill-people-people-do/ http://bluefoxalley.com/2008/05/31/otardking-not-otaking/ […]

    Reply
  • 8. FuyuMaiden  |  June 2, 2008 at 1:12 am

    Awesome. This is the first post I’ve seen on all this crap that I’ve agreed with 100%. The fansubbers just do whatever is popular. I thought it was common knowledge, but obviously plenty of people don’t get it. The video shouldn’t have been even made in the first place. It won’t change anything, just cause everyone to yell and shout in ALL CAPS on the internet for a week and then it’s over. Fansubs are still the same.

    Ugh…internet drama.

    Reply
  • 9. Baka-Raptor  |  June 2, 2008 at 7:34 am

    @lolikitsune: If people didn’t have guns, they’d just kill each other with katanas, maces, axes, crossbows, and their bare hands. You wouldn’t want that, would you?

    Reply
  • […] ON THE BANDWAGON HEUH TODAY GIEZ O 3 […]

    Reply
  • 11. iniksbane  |  June 4, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    Okay, so I watched part one and two. And blah…

    I mean goodness gracious, I’m getting the stuff for free, I don’t expect perfection. And I don’t care about liner notes. And on top of that I think he’s overstating the issue. I’ve never had a problem understanding the translation because of too much jargon. In fact, if I’ve had any problem it’s because of poor timing and poor English.

    It’s just silly. Really silly.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’M IN THE ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRMY.

And the prophet spake, saying: "Frak this, for my faith is a shield proof against your blandishments!"

- Alem Mahat, The Book of Cain, Chapter IV, Verse XXI

Email: DrmChsr0atgmaildotcom (at=@, dot=.)

RSS HAMSTER SOUNDBITES.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Who needs a calendar?

May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

The stale pile of randomness

I have been anally violated

  • 541,517 times OMG

UNOWN, I CHOOSE YOU

HEE HEE HEE.


