Kara no Kyokai: SHE’S DEAD, SHE’S DEAD, ISN’T IT WONDERFUL

May 24, 2008 at 11:03 pm 5 comments


So I heard. Either Bandai Visual dug their own grave with Odex-level haughtiness and stupidity (obviously), or Ryogi Shiki had something to do with it (colorful lines of death woo).

Speaking of Ryogi, I caught the first Kara no Kyokai animated short movie. Best TYPE-MOON adaptation I’ve seen in a while.


SO TSUNDERE

There is no Tsukihime animé (that other one does not count) and the Fate/stay Night adaptation was watchable at best.

Kara no Kyokai is hauntingly BEAUTIFUL. It’s not very apparent, but you notice it after a while.
I dunno what makes it so, but it does seem to be the combination of many elements.

The visuals:

The first thing that hit me was that the animation felt cheap. Unlike UFOTable’s other animated works where the animation was extremely fluid and dynamic, KnK started off rather cheaply, I felt. If it wasn’t action-heavy the animation was rather stiff and jerky at times, especially Ryogi’s strawberry ice cream scene. I wonder if it was a stylistic decision or was it a budget decision…


Seen here: EPIC lines of death on Tohno Shiki-unkillable creatures. Note the pretty colors. DO NOT TRY THIS AT HOME KIDS.

Anyway the visuals were top-notch when it counted [read: THE FIGHTAN SCENE] and that’s consolation enough for me. Also 1 second of colorful lines of death from Shiki’s POV. No black-and-white crap here. This is the TECHNICOLOR(TM) version. Shiki has epic hax.

The music:

The melodies are hauntingly beautiful. This is epic-level brick-shitting music. It’s power levels are definitely over 9000. I really wanna get the OST so bad.

The voice acting:

I was pleasantly surprised when I heard Ryogi’s voice. I thought “Interesting voice. Though I’d never cast someone with such a deep voice.” Then I realized that Ryogi had more than one personality an epic spoiler. And all was well.

The adaptation:

Oh. My. Word. The whole thing was an animated reproduction of the novel. Blow by blow. Bricks were shat. man. Bricks were shat. Enough to make a mansion even.

I think most TYPE-MOON fans (you’re looking at one here) deserve a good adaptation. their prayers have been answered.

Can’t wait for the next one. It promises to be the best thing I have watched since Overman King Gainer.

PS: Ryogi is moé (SO TSUNDERE). Also some of us would kill to be the ice-cream (No Mikiya you are the strawberry Haagen Daaz. And Mikiya was eaten by Ryogi.).

PPS: No strawberry ice-cream was harmed in the making of this post. Sherbets, on the other hand…

PPPS: This post has not been endorsed by Haagen Daaz, ufotable, TYPE-MOON, or Volvic. Quote at your own peril. And hire your own lawyer.


This is a prime example of a ranged grapple attack. DC20.

PPPPS: Ryogi loev Mikiya. This is troo. Also Ryogi has gone beyond plot armor. Epic-level hax AND a ranged grapple attack? Somebody call the DEM police. Ryogi’s hax is clearly over 9000. And needs moar Fujinon. Fujinon is moé.

Entry filed under: Anime, Kara no Kyokai.

Momotato appreciation post. SO TSUNDERE: A look at animé female archetypes

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The Sojourner  |  May 25, 2008 at 12:20 am

    The music was done by Yuki Kaijura and I did not have to read the credits in order to know it was by her. Strangely enough, I have this strange ability to sense her stuff because it is very distinctive to me.

    Yeah I kinda liked this adaptation’s first chapter as well.

    Reply
  • 2. Tyrenol  |  May 25, 2008 at 10:37 am

    Wasn’t you the one who told companies like BVUSA to “die with their ideas,” Drmchsr0?

    Reply
  • 3. blissmo  |  May 26, 2008 at 2:38 pm

    O

    M

    F

    G

    BLOOOOOOOOOD!!!!!!!!! XD

    Reply
  • 4. Setsuna-san  |  May 26, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    So moe my origin got erased.

    Reply
  • 5. nunka  |  June 15, 2008 at 4:23 am

    @The Sojourner: It’s not just you. Kajiura’s music has a very distinctive style. Lots of bells and choirs and such. Pretty much instantly recognizable in any situation.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’M IN THE ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRMY.

And the prophet spake, saying: "Frak this, for my faith is a shield proof against your blandishments!"

- Alem Mahat, The Book of Cain, Chapter IV, Verse XXI

Email: DrmChsr0atgmaildotcom (at=@, dot=.)

RSS HAMSTER SOUNDBITES.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Who needs a calendar?

May 2008
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

The stale pile of randomness

I have been anally violated

  • 541,806 times OMG

UNOWN, I CHOOSE YOU

HEE HEE HEE.


