Loving what you blog

March 31, 2008 at 5:49 pm 6 comments


There is nothing better for a man, than that he should eat and drink, and that he should make his soul enjoy good in his labour. This also I saw, that it was from the hand of God.

-Ecclesiastes 2:24 (KJV)

The saddest thing that could happen to anyone is that you realize that you hate what you do.  Be it your profession, blogging, even something as mundane is reading and eating, once you hate what you do, it’s not fun anymore, it’s a JOB. Like what happened to WoW to some players. Penny Arcade humorously says it well.

It’s a shame when you realize that you hate what you do. It means you have lost not just the passion to do what you did, but also the determination to push on. Each post you make is like torture, and the only joy you find in making it is when you finally finish what you had to say. Sooner or later, you will give up, making silly and hateful excuses and blaming everyone and everything but yourself for giving up.

Can people hate what they do? Well, yes. I’ve heard people complaining about studies, their job, even about blogging. They’ve realized that it either doesn’t suit them or they hate the subject matter. Some even go so far as to blame other people for making their experience full of coldness and hate.

Going about with a giant chip on your shoulder does not make for good blogging experience. I will admit, being fueled by hate makes for popularity, but it doesn’t make for great posts. Hate has a great way of multiplying itself, becoming bigger than you could control.

If there was one thing I have promised myself (and most probably lived/blogged by), it’s to have fun with whatever I do. Be it trolling Jason Miao, screaming like a yaoi fangirl with a yaoi paddle when it comes to shows I like, making fun of certain drama whores and flamers, I have had a ton of fun doing it. Some would even say I enjoy doing it.

It all goes back to verse I have chosen for today’s article. I’d like you to pay attention to the last part of the first sentence.

and that he should make his soul enjoy good in his labour.

What is so good about “making our soul enjoy good in our labor?” Or in this case, love what you do? For one thing, it makes the whole process easier. Thinking positive makes anything better. Another thing is this: it does not feel boring or like a chore to do. If you love what you do, it wouldn’t matter if the fate of the world lies in your hands; you’d do it not because you have to, but because you’d LOVE to.

The words of King Solomon rang true in his day, and it still rings true today. If one does not love what he or she does, he or she then hates what he or she does. King Solomon sums it up exactly in Ecclesiastes 2:17 (NIV):

So I hated life, because the work that is done under the sun was grievous to me. All of it is meaningless, a chasing after the wind.

There were times I poured out my bitterness and hate, and there were times I became hateful to validate a point. I did not enjoy those times, and when I look back, I wonder with curiosity what fueled me to do what I had done. But most of the time, I’ve never felt that this whole thing was a big burden.

So I guess what I’ve been trying to drive home is this: Love what you do. Positive thinking makes everything a bit easier and less stressful. Don’t be a Kaioshin, who flamed himself to oblivion. (Dude, seriously, you sow hate, you reap hate back, IN SPADES. And TWUCKS.)

Entry filed under: Christianity and Anime, Week of love.

Special feature: WEEK OF LOVE~~(to the power of infinity) We interupt your week of hippies and weed and bad Beatles remixes for this special announcement.

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. LianYL  |  March 31, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    drm, I see that you’ve gained enlightenment. I shall refrain from calling you Digital Rights Management from now on.

    Reply
  • 2. IcyStorm  |  March 31, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    XD @ LianYL

    Reply
  • 3. kokanaden  |  March 31, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    Amen.

    Reply
  • 4. Tyrenol  |  March 31, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    That’s right. Love IS important. A lot of these so-called “anime fans” and the industry that “caters to them” don’t seem to get it.

    I love anime as a “hobby.” I love the fact that, after finding a title I can enjoy, I can go back to enjoy it no matter what the naysayers say about it. And the otaku-tachi who hump their love pillows of their favorite character from some retarded moe anime series; they spoke for themselves. I’m not one of them. (I save around $100, I meet with my stepdad and we search the popular streets for whoever’s working at that time.)

    My apologies for putting “retard,” “moe,” and “anime” in the same sentence. But that’s how deep my love is. I felt like nearly everybody had lost their way. And I didn’t want any of the new blood to become part of that dehumanizing craze that’s out there. This “fandom of animu” and the people who create them.

    Reply
  • 5. serial  |  March 31, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    Nice Blog.

    Reply
  • 6. nckl  |  April 1, 2008 at 11:56 am

    Do some anime bloggers actually HATE blogging? Or is it more just being bored, tired, or irritated with aspects of it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’M IN THE ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRMY.

And the prophet spake, saying: "Frak this, for my faith is a shield proof against your blandishments!"

- Alem Mahat, The Book of Cain, Chapter IV, Verse XXI

Email: DrmChsr0atgmaildotcom (at=@, dot=.)

RSS HAMSTER SOUNDBITES.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Who needs a calendar?

March 2008
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

The stale pile of randomness

I have been anally violated

  • 542,031 times OMG

UNOWN, I CHOOSE YOU

HEE HEE HEE.


