What’s a genre?

February 13, 2008 at 9:34 am 2 comments


No seriously. That’s the first question that came to my mind when I read all that crap about genre and stuff.

It’s mostly because of how I view genre. Personally, I’ve got only one genre, and that’s the “AWESOME” genre. I give all shows the full run, watching them from start to finish before I either file it under “AWESOME” or not. Sometimes, it takes less than 5 minutes, like in the case of Overman King Gainer (under the ‘so silly it’s awesome’ OP lies a gem of a show) and Gurren Lagann (no further praise needed), some may take a bit longer (Shana, etc), while others have to run it’s course in order to show off it’s awesomeness (School Days comes to mind). Some, unfortunately, don’t make it to AWESOME status, and I drop it like a hot lead weight (Chocotto SisFUCK, Eva(The irony is that I’m giving Eva a second chance to redeem itself; it’s not looking good for Anno)).

What genre does for me is to give me some pointers of what to expect. For example, if I’m about to watch a mecha series, I should be expecting to see some robots. If it’s a harem, there’s the possibility of some boy being the object of adoration. Comedy? There should be some wacky hijinks. Eh, you get the drill.

That’s how I roll, anyway. And yes, thar be dolljoints and boatlights.

As for genre being antiquated rubbish, well, I don’t really have an opinion on this. But I can assure you one thing: genre’s pretty important to the people who write. No one just decides to write about some pretty picture. It’ll be weird and definitely not very interesting. In fact, for most novice writers, genres are pretty important as they learn the ropes. Without a framework of clichés and possible plot points to build on, how can one improve his or her writing? You tell me the answer to that, and I’ll retract my argument. And no, you may not say a ton of constructive criticism. I’ve already considered that. (And yes I’m aware of the problems with relying too heavily on genre.)

Entry filed under: Bitching.

What? No sex-crazed delusional Tomoyo end? WHAT PATRICK! Today’s Special: 10 Girls we love to hate because of their actions and why we should love them anyway

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tyrenol  |  February 13, 2008 at 10:10 am

    Pardon me for coming back to this blog, Derm. Are we still on good terms? 🙂

    I don’t really have problems with genres, just a show’s redundancy.

    Everything now seems to be a potpourri of cliches, themes, lack of originality, and payback towards the “annoyingly vocal fanbase.”

    Fanservicy giant-robot versus real-robot anime (Gundam 00). Little brats that beat up on men (Shana, Zero’s Familiar, Rozen Maiden and Black Lagoon to a certain extent), “Maid Anime,” anime about successful crossdressors and boys who sound like girls…

    And then there are the anime titles that feature no “average joe male lead whatsoever.” He’s either too weak, too evil, too much of a stick in the mud, sounds too much like a girl, is a failure in school, is a failure in athletics, or kills people out of boredom.

    Me, I only keep two bins: Anime brave enough to debunk Japan’s trends (which I have very few titles about) and h-anime (which I have tons of and seem to OWN more orz than the so-called regular anime).

    Saying that; peace be with you. Peace be with everybody.

    Reply
  • 2. drmchsr0  |  February 14, 2008 at 12:02 am

    Ty, you haven’t done anything wrong. As far as I’m concerned, you and me, we’re still on good terms.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’M IN THE ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRMY.

And the prophet spake, saying: "Frak this, for my faith is a shield proof against your blandishments!"

- Alem Mahat, The Book of Cain, Chapter IV, Verse XXI

Email: DrmChsr0atgmaildotcom (at=@, dot=.)

RSS HAMSTER SOUNDBITES.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Who needs a calendar?

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

The stale pile of randomness

I have been anally violated

  • 541,665 times OMG

UNOWN, I CHOOSE YOU

HEE HEE HEE.


