On apologetics and why I don’t usually take on that mantle.

February 12, 2008 at 12:00 pm 2 comments


I think a quote by Charles Spurgeon is in order here.

Who ever heard of defending a lion? Just turn it loose; it will defend itself.

I don’t see the need to jump to the defense of anything. I don’t have to. If it’s good, it’ll defend itself. If it’s bad and people have to defend it from criticism constantly, then it must not have been a very good work, has it?

My role is to provide a correct testimony when anything is scrutinized. If it’s good, I’ll say it is. If it has faults, I’ll voice them. If no one wants to provide a positive testimony, I provide it. Granted the last bit is the work of an apologetic, if it can defend itself from criticism, I usually don’t have to step in.

Besides, who knows what lies in the heart of an apologetic? Does he defend it with a pure heart, or does he have his own agenda to fulfill? I’d rather be a truthful witness than an apologetic. Less stress, hassle, it’s the right thing to do, and when I do get action, it’s usually meaningful.

PS: This was originally applied to the Bible, but it works in any form.

Entry filed under: Bitching.

Symbology and You: And something about hope too! What? No sex-crazed delusional Tomoyo end? WHAT PATRICK!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Boulayman  |  February 12, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    But then, who is going to defend the people whose life is endangered because some dude turned a lion loose ? or a tiger for that matter ^^

    Reply
  • 2. Tyrenol  |  February 13, 2008 at 12:40 am

    Boulayman: How about we use the “Hurricane Katrina” analogy.

    You’ve tried to get the word out that the lion is loose. Unfortunately, the lion had slaughtered everyone and crippled the rest. Those who were responsible for the lion had tried to shift the blame and avoid punishment. These very people had never been seen in public ever again; fired, their resume ruined, and a joke in every song created since.

    (I nearly lost my mom from that hurricane. So now I rip new holes in the sorry rears of any apologetic.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’M IN THE ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRMY.

And the prophet spake, saying: "Frak this, for my faith is a shield proof against your blandishments!"

- Alem Mahat, The Book of Cain, Chapter IV, Verse XXI

Email: DrmChsr0atgmaildotcom (at=@, dot=.)

RSS HAMSTER SOUNDBITES.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Who needs a calendar?

February 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829  

The stale pile of randomness

I have been anally violated

  • 541,738 times OMG

UNOWN, I CHOOSE YOU

HEE HEE HEE.


