We can has community?

December 17, 2007 at 1:23 am 16 comments


Dorama tl;dr: Owen becomes a gigantic badass hivemind overlord belt (ala The Borg Collective (7 of 9) or Queen Kerrigan, only not female), Mike goes “LOL NO U OWEN SI TEH HITLER LOLOLOL” and everyone goes “Noez we si not teh Zerg/Borg”. And then, out of nowhere, someone mutters “Resistance is useless!” Or “INVISIBLE COMMUNITY”, or something.

I don’t know. I didn’t write the drama. The darned writers are on strike. I had to hire kittehs to write the darned drama LOL. At least they work for tummy rubs and love, and not cold hard cash 😛

On the issue of Owen taking on multiple personalities, well, I’ll just say this. The Internet reveals what people truly are. I’m not being judgemental or anything, but even all the wars in the world put together could not rival the sheer intense hate that lurks on the Internet. From bastions of elitism like the gated community better known as SomethingAwful, to the depreciated slums known as 4chan, the only similarity between the two is the sheer amount of hate and evil contained within. Blog postings don’t reveal the true nature of the individual. It’s only when you put the individual into a different environment when he or she shows his true colors. I get flak from Owen for being the same kind of person on my blog as well as on IRC, well, I say it’s far better to be honest to yourself and others, rather than put on a mask and let others see that instead of the person inside. It’s got something to do with the issue of self, but that’ll take too long, and that’s not the point.

With that said, I think Owen has pushed out a rather fine idea. While I can’t vouch for the effectiveness of the collective, it does seem that at least they have something in common. Community-building is something we all must learn. That, and learning how to gracefully take criticism, something even I have to learn.

Unfortunately, while I do applaud the efforts of Owen and his Borg Collective, I won’t be taking part in it, or be a part of it. I, uh, am not a socialite. And I have issues with some of it’s members.

But the question remains: Is Owen truly a visionary, or is he just a petty tyrant? Only time will tell, and so far, he’s looking like a famous Chinese Man whose shares his English name with a rather popular boy wizard in fiction (who is also ripped, from my personal Intertubes).

Entry filed under: Bitching.

planetarian: 2 years on, changes, recollections, and hope. INVISIBLE BLOGGER

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Koji Oe  |  December 17, 2007 at 5:19 am

    I am so tired of people commenting about and writting aboiut the so called “community”. W

    Reply
  • 2. Koji Oe  |  December 17, 2007 at 5:20 am

    I am so tired of people commenting about and writing about the so called community. Who cares? Why can’t people spend more time writing about anime then bitching all the time about other people?

    Reply
  • 3. omo  |  December 17, 2007 at 6:16 am

    Because anime blogging together is better than anime blogging alone.

    Reply
  • 4. Koji Oe  |  December 17, 2007 at 7:19 am

    “Because anime blogging together is better than anime blogging alone.”

    lol wut?

    What’s the point if the supposed “community” sucks because everyone is bitching about it from time to time.

    Reply
  • 5. Michael  |  December 17, 2007 at 7:23 am

    A fine idea, indeed. Just that the person behind, is, as I am advocating, very, very doubtful. 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Crisu  |  December 17, 2007 at 10:54 am

    Maybe I’m missing all of the drama because I’m still new to the blogging scene. But I just thought it was a fun idea to do. Unless Owen has been forcing people to follow the 12 Days theme?

    I like the idea of a community in a sense that we can just all become better acquaintances or friends and just combine all our differerent knowledges and interests together. I don’t think it’s any sort of competition to see who has the best blog or the best content.

    Reply
  • 7. drmchsr0  |  December 17, 2007 at 6:21 pm

    Koji: It’s more of a Zerg Hive/Borg Commune than a community, really…

    At least they complain as a collective 😛 Someone better get Picard. We’re gonna need a bunch of Infinity Modulators (or whatever you call them anti-Borg Weapons).

    Reply
  • 8. TheBigN  |  December 17, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    Crisu: No forcing at all. People just do what they feel like~

    Koji Oe sounds like he’s being a dissenter because it sounds cool. :/

    Reply
  • 9. Stripey  |  December 17, 2007 at 10:36 pm

    TheBigN: Actually I believe Koji Oe is coming from the angle of “Why blog about anime blogging when we can blog about anime?”

    And I can’t help but concur with him. 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. Koji Oe  |  December 18, 2007 at 12:48 am

    Exactly, Stripey.

    Reply
  • 11. Hinano  |  December 18, 2007 at 3:14 am

    “Why blog about anime blogging when we can blog about anime?”

    Amen that. Also notice the people participating in all this abc nonsense aren’t even in the top 15 “subscribed” blogs on animenano. I personally felt more “communal” during the Anano days then I ever did with ab antenna which hoards endsless amounts of blogs that come and go.

    Reply
  • 12. TheBigN  |  December 18, 2007 at 5:34 am

    Koji Oe: My misunderstanding then. But people posting on the same topic helps people interact with each other, and I think that’s where Owen’s trying to go with this. I post about anime, but I like to know more about other people that blog about anime as well. If you’re cool not knowing, that’s fine with me.

    And for me, it’s not about getting more stats: I just started in February, and I’m not expecting to storm any top whatever stats anytime soon. I’m cool with having people who don’t know I exist checking me out, and at least trying to see if I have something interesting to say. I wouldn’t have checked out Drm’s blog if someone else I was reading hadn’t had it in the blogroll, for example. :3

    Reply
  • 13. Owen  |  December 18, 2007 at 5:45 am

    E-penis. Your subscriber amount evidently has to do with the quality of your writing.

    Reply
  • 14. omo  |  December 18, 2007 at 1:03 pm

    You can’t clap with one hand. It’s very elementary my dear intarweb citizens.

    Reply
  • 15. drmchsr0  |  December 18, 2007 at 3:11 pm

    Stripey: O hay Stripy

    Owen: Not exactly. jp writes some really good stuff, but not a lot of people read his blog. On the other hand, DM writes some of the most insular and distasteful drek and yet he has a zillion fanboys ready to defend his ignorant chickenscratchings. And then there’s that carnie jaalin, who writes to provoke.

    omo: Well, you won’t be able to clap with one hand, but you sure can make a lot of noise with one hand and a hard surface/drum.

    Koji: Bitchings raise hits. Animu episode summaries don’t draw that much unless you update daily, and that’s a chore. Also, it’s better to hang together than hang apart.

    Who cares, though. I wanna see Owen turn into an ultra badass Borg/Zerg hivemind so I have every excuse to to bring in Star Trek/Starcraft references. Also Portal references.

    Also, INVISIBLE FUUKO

    Reply
  • 16. LianYL  |  December 20, 2007 at 6:06 pm

    @drm I think judging a site’s traffic by the number of comments is rather flawed. It’s a different reader base that DM and jpmeyer cater to.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’M IN THE ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRMY.

And the prophet spake, saying: "Frak this, for my faith is a shield proof against your blandishments!"

- Alem Mahat, The Book of Cain, Chapter IV, Verse XXI

Email: DrmChsr0atgmaildotcom (at=@, dot=.)

RSS HAMSTER SOUNDBITES.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Who needs a calendar?

December 2007
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

The stale pile of randomness

I have been anally violated

  • 541,879 times OMG

UNOWN, I CHOOSE YOU

HEE HEE HEE.


