planetarian: 2 years on, changes, recollections, and hope.

December 7, 2007 at 12:32 am 10 comments


Everyone knows I’ve been somewhat zealous with the promotion of this game, and it’s personal benefits (to me mostly), so instead of asking people to get the game, I will simply say this:

Ever since I played that game all the way back on that October day, I have found my life changed beyond comparison. Long story short, I became a Christian, and accepted Jesus as my personal Lord and Savior, yaddayaddayadda. Even though it did take me a year to finally do it.

While I felt really horrible inside the third playthrough, no tears were shed. While this could be attributed to the fact I was playing it this time round at a late hour and was kinda rushing through it (1.5 hours instead of 3) and that I had already played the game twice and listened to the soundtrack incessantly, still…

I feel that the game has done it’s job. It does not matter if I cry or not.

But enough about my newfound zeal.

The year that preceded this playthrough was a harsh one. Threats of lawsuits, general dissonance, pile after pile of unhappy events…

In no particular order:

  • ODEX
  • DarkMirage kicking up a ton of fuss over silly fansubs
  • TH2 Patch Fiasco
  • GipFace lashing out at Visualnews like a conceited Pharisee
  • tsubaki taking a cheap shot at me
  • Owen being an elitist mindless prick
  • Justin Sevakis and ANN (who are so anti-fansub you’d think they were like Christian/Islamic fundamentalists instead of Americans) thinking they can eradicate fansubs by appealing to Japan in their letter
  • Growing dissatisfaction with the whole thing, seeing as both sides have no righteous argument in which to lure me over
  • Realizing that Singaporeans pretty much flat out do not care at all about ANTHING, as long as it is not relevant to their interests

And those are just what I can remember offhand. Of course, the year has not been a total loss.

  • Mirror Moon has released the first of 3 Fate/Stay Night English Patches, with the second to follow
  • Utawarerumono has been picked up and is now being proofread
  • CLANNAD, Gurren Lagann, and ef
  • An undying hope that humanity will pick up the pieces and get along (even though it will not be so, I’m naive like that)
  • (insert something about religion here, I’m too lazy to put it in words)
  • CLANNAD English translation project chugging along fine
  • ~ONE~ English Patch

One might say these small things aren’t worth much cheer, but trust me, when things look bleak, it’s often the smallest rays of hope that can brighten an otherwise dreary, sad year. It is true, then, the words of the Teacher, when he said,

“it is good and comely for one to eat and to drink, and to enjoy the good of all his labour, which he may carry away in his hand.” – Ecclesiastes 5:18

Indeed, when the world seems to come apart at the seams, it is often the little things that make it seem not so bad.

As Christmas approaches, I wish you all a happy Christmas, in the hope that you will, one day, recognize Jesus as your personal Savior. I am not under compulsion to force this into anyone’s throat (though the thought of chucking down Bibles down people’s throats entertains me so sometimes), nor am I compelled to force anyone to convert. I am only a messenger, nothing more, nothing less. It is better for a man to come into the halls of the Lord with thanksgiving, rather than fear. It works much better, and people don’t grumble so much.

(Fun fact: Did ou know that Jesus was also born on the 6th of December, instead of the 25th? I know I’ll be lynched for this, I know, but the 25th is a rather convenient date, is it not?)

Entry filed under: Bitching, Christianity and Anime, Planetarian.

If animé is worthless, does that mean my life is worthless too? We can has community?

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Koji Oe  |  December 7, 2007 at 3:05 am

    I’ve been wanting to play Planetarian. It’s translated right? I wonder where I can get a copy?

    I had no idea the anime community was full of so much drama. I’m glad I am just some humble unknown blogger than.

    Good luck with your journey finding Truth. Have you read Thomas Merton? You may or may not enjoy him.

    Reply
  • 2. Haesslich  |  December 7, 2007 at 4:43 am

    Koji: you have to buy it from the Key website. There’s an English patch for the game, once you buy and install it.

    Reply
  • 3. Tyrenol  |  December 7, 2007 at 6:42 am

    The day I accept Jesus Christ as a personal savior is the day Palestinians get their Palestine back.

    Still… You have a happy set of holidays as well, my good friend.

    Reply
  • 4. jyuichi  |  December 7, 2007 at 8:55 am

    More precisely you have to buy it from Himeya or Paletweb if you want to play it in English. At the bottom of this review I made I explain the different versions .
    http://blickwinkelsan.blogspot.com/2007/07/planetarian-reverie-of-little-planet-pc.html

    Christmas was set to be on the 25th to help convert over pagans who celebrated the winter solstice around that time. It’s a political thing.

    I myself am not religous but I do respect the hope and goodness religion brings to people. Merry Christmas to all!

    Reply
  • 5. drmchsr0  |  December 7, 2007 at 6:37 pm

    Ty: Get to work. Get someone that cares into the White House. The 2008 elections are ’round the corner.

    Reply
  • 6. Arashi-chan  |  December 7, 2007 at 10:46 pm

    Actually, Jesus was born in either summer or spring…

    Reply
  • 7. ritchan  |  December 9, 2007 at 6:26 am

    Yup, I rank planetarian right up there… below Ever17. Second place isn’t bad compared to Ever17.

    Reply
  • 8. TP  |  December 10, 2007 at 3:10 am

    You mean Planetarian is the s**t? I didn’t know about that! (insert lulz here)

    No worries here, though. Though I’d be celebrating a different holiday than you are. (Seriously, do you think it’s high-time to ditch the commercial-gimmick-laden Dec 25 “Christmas” for a more Bethlehem-feel-original, more sombre Dec 6 “Christmas”? Just a hypothetical question, no intention to annoy anyone here.)

    And, perhaps I should get back to Lord of The Rings fanfic sometime later, should animé becomes an unattainable hobby (oh, yeah, I still am onto those Elvish languages!).

    Reply
  • 9. Michael  |  December 11, 2007 at 11:14 pm

    If a lot of things from the Internet piss you off, it’s time to retract into yourself and read. I’m serious.

    I suggest reading Crime and Punishment, for starters. It’s a great book for reflection, and its protagonist’s redemption is a sight to behold. 🙂

    Reply
  • 10. Heinkel  |  January 14, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    Dude, Reverie is not jesus. She’s Eddie the Head from Iron Maiden:

    -Heinkel

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’M IN THE ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRMY.

And the prophet spake, saying: "Frak this, for my faith is a shield proof against your blandishments!"

- Alem Mahat, The Book of Cain, Chapter IV, Verse XXI

Email: DrmChsr0atgmaildotcom (at=@, dot=.)

RSS HAMSTER SOUNDBITES.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Who needs a calendar?

December 2007
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

The stale pile of randomness

I have been anally violated

  • 541,509 times OMG

UNOWN, I CHOOSE YOU

HEE HEE HEE.


