I am a bitter and contrite man.

November 27, 2007 at 9:33 pm 4 comments


In the interests of keeping this post as areligious as I can, I will do my best to refrain from quoting from the Bible. However, my sorrow is far greater than what can be humanly put into words, so please forgive me for straying from the path.

I see the numbers, hear the rhetortic, read about the atrocities, lambasted the fools, acknowledged the wise, and mocked those who deserved it. And yet, no one listens.

My heart is contrite, my soul filled with the bitter taste of gall.

They lampoon, stir up war, accuse each other for atrocities they themselves have done, and yet, refuse to sit, and think about the consequences.

The industry sayeth to the community: “Thou art a hive of scum and villainy, for you hath not supported us. The worth of your pilfered goods is zero, for you art selfish and impatient. Your efforts art illegal, and shall be reviled.”

And the community sayeth back to the industry: “Thou art cruel and unjust! We hath done no wrong, it is you, with your diminishing returns and bad planning, that hath sent you down the road of ruin! We are Justice, and you are the Devil!”

(Personally, I wish both sides were as eloquent as Shakespeare, but eh, I have a habit for using Ye Olde English.)

Has not the ongoing debacle taught us all nothing? Have we learned nothing at all about the state of the culture? Or have we, unable to accept the truth, turned to false prophets, liars, and our selfish desires to batter down what is left? Have we failed to realize that it is not one side or the other that is to blame, but ourselves?

Now listen, if you please, to the wails of a bitter and contrite fan.

Here’s the thing. We know we can’t solve this thing in a civil, honest and considerate manner. It’s too far gone for that. If you mess up, the opposition will form lynch mobs and murder you.

Since you all don’t care too much about the community anyway, why not take enforcement one step further?

Yes, that’s right, I’m talking about cold-blooded murder.

What better way to show that you mean business than pulling off a spate of murders, all financed from some secret slush fund no one knows about and can be moved at will? You know you can’t enforce without violent opposition, so why not take the fight to them? I mean, if you are willing to squeeze out cash from a nine-year-old and send a SWAT Team to arrest a bunch of non-violent Swedes and their server racks, I’m sure gunning down some Internet pirates wouldn’t faze you one bit. After all, You don’t care about the customer, and the customer sees no reason to support what you do, so why not give them a chilling reason to do so?

SUPPORT US – OR DIE. It’s catchy, and sends out a message to all them evil Internet pirates. Break the law and they lose their lives. Heck, let’s ignore the fact that this will eventually lead to you shooting otherwise innocent people who are unrelated to the situation and thus indict you, the CEO, for multiple counts of conspiracy to murder and hiring assassins!

Because it’s all about the profits, right? Right? Or deep down, are you just a bunch of bullies and cowards, refusing to take this obvious line of action?
Has my reputation gone down like a osmium weight? Good. Because this is the same thing I see everyday. Not just in blogs, either. It’s all on the news sites, in the minds of the Japanese, even on ANN. Except phrased oh so differently so as to be politically correct.

Unfortunately, no one wants to admit their wrongdoing in the first place. The industry will not admit that they were too soft and idealistic, or greedy and uncaring. The community will not admit they only now care for number of downloads and hits per day. The Japanese will not admit they made huge mistakes in investment and the slow crippling of the animation support industry in Japan.

And worst of all, no one is willing to ever solve these problems. There is only talk, not action. People who say online distribution is the only way, or that buying DVDs are the only way of supporting the industry. If all we do is flap our lips with no indication of helping at all, then for us, it would be better if we just shut up and did nothing.

Unfortunately, this is not the case. It does seem like everyone is content with flapping their lips, offering nothing but opinion and hot air. Or worse still, daring to tell people to wind up and die. I have not just suggested, but have expressed my desire to help in any way possible, if only they were willing to change. Unfortunately, it seems like no one wants to listen to a crazed voice in the street, and prefer instead, to listen to their false prophets, be it tj_han, Darkmirage, tsubaki, or even ANN.

Sure, they sound reasonable and whatnot, but so what. Politicians also can sound reasonable, but do they mean what they say? Do they care at all? Anyone can sound reasonable with enough education and hubris.

And it is also with a heavy heart that I accuse EVERYONE in the community, starting from the people at ANN, to people like Darkmiarge, tsubaki, and tj_han, to the industry, to the fans, to the leechers, to the fansubbers, and even myself, for putting our collective interest into this giant morass we call “the state of Japanese animation”. For everyone is content to sit by the sidelines, offering nothing but all contributing to the decline, myself included. We all should be ashamed of ourselves for letting things become what it is today.

If you look at all the shit that’s happened, it all leads to the complete destruction of our favorite hobby.If we can’t even stop ourselves, what good can come out of anything the industry does?

I end this pile of unorganized tallow shaving with something I like to call, the truth.

And I gave my heart to seek and search out by wisdom concerning all things that are done under heaven: this sore travail hath God given to the sons of man to be exercised therewith. I have seen all the works that are done under the sun; and, behold, all is vanity and vexation of spirit. That which is crooked cannot be made straight: and that which is wanting cannot be numbered. I communed with mine own heart, saying, Lo, I am come to great estate, and have gotten more wisdom than all they that have been before me in Jerusalem: yea, my heart had great experience of wisdom and knowledge. And I gave my heart to know wisdom, and to know madness and folly: I perceived that this also is vexation of spirit. For in much wisdom is much grief: and he that increaseth knowledge increaseth sorrow.

I’ll leave it to you to make sense of it all.

Drm note: I should have heeded the instruction to shake the dust off my feet, as evidence against the community’s hospitality, and took my peace with me. I am such an idiot at times.

Entry filed under: Anime, Bitching, editorial.

The truth about enforcement, as interpreted by me. If animé is worthless, does that mean my life is worthless too?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tyrenol  |  November 28, 2007 at 12:07 am

    So, Drm… Do you have a good idea of what Jesus would do when the anime industry crashes? 😛

    Reply
  • 2. Mirrinus  |  November 28, 2007 at 1:47 am

    I agree, these debates should be conducted in Shakespearean pseudo-Olde English. Should make them even more interesting to read.

    Reply
  • 3. Haesslich  |  November 28, 2007 at 10:36 am

    I buy shit. I contribute. If others can’t be bothered to purchase, then fie on them. At the same time, I feel nothing but contempt towards the companies which overlicense and then expect me to buy everything without seeing it on TV, or without offering other alternatives for viewing. Funimation and ADV are trying, at least, to let people see on the cheap the stuff they’re putting out. Geneon was one of the best regarding publishing stuff in a timely fashion, ditto Bandai.

    On the other hand, a lot of companies (Viz, I’m looking RIGHT at you) feel it’s okay to license and then sit on the properties for 2-3 years before releasing even the first volume, and to jack up the price to $30 per disc. The distribution channels for others means I may never, ever, see some of their titles because I can’t get them easily locally, and online ordering is anathema in some situations.

    And there’s no way to bring both sides to an agreement, because there’s idiots in all our factions which are driving the rest of us to ruin and despair. There’s the idiots who will ONLY download fansubs, and the idiots in suits who will sit on titles long after they’ve lost their mindshare among the people they hope to sell these to… or who license utter garbage and then overcharge for it. There’s idiot subbers who derive their entire sense of self-worth from the number of downloads they get, and stopping distribution when the title is licensed, or accuracy of the subs be damned.

    You know what? After all this shit’s flown around, I’m starting to think I couldn’t care less if the industry died in Japan and internationally. It’s all going to Hell anyways – in ten years, they’ll be as bland as American network TV, with the way they’re losing money and how new (fresh) ideas aren’t paying off, while Naruto and other titles which are little more than filler and action lines ARE.

    Reply
  • 4. Lupus  |  November 28, 2007 at 11:12 pm

    This is why I stick to manga.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’M IN THE ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRMY.

And the prophet spake, saying: "Frak this, for my faith is a shield proof against your blandishments!"

- Alem Mahat, The Book of Cain, Chapter IV, Verse XXI

Email: DrmChsr0atgmaildotcom (at=@, dot=.)

RSS HAMSTER SOUNDBITES.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Who needs a calendar?

November 2007
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

The stale pile of randomness

I have been anally violated

  • 541,659 times OMG

UNOWN, I CHOOSE YOU

HEE HEE HEE.


