Anyone who thinks buying merchandise is supporting must be out of their minds.

October 27, 2007 at 2:06 pm 5 comments


Here’s the thing.

First of all, most of that cash does not go back directly to the animation studio, unless your name is Bandai-Namco.

You see, stuff like figures and artbooks and whatnot work on what is called the royalty system. The content creators (or copyright owner) gets a percentage of the cash from a sale, usually ranging from 1-5%, less if the creator sold his copyright to his or her parent company. Seiyuu and singers also get a percentage from thevoice CDs they sell, although not as generous as the content creators. The minimum payout per album/song is at least 16 cents (RIAA number, I think it’s getting less :P). Most of the money goes back to the company that made the product.

Artbooks and whatnot also work on the same system, though I think they get royalties and a slice of the profit pie.

DVDs profit the licensor, but that is a different thing altogether. I’m not too sure if the licensors actually see a lot of money out of DVD sales, because most of it goes back to purchasing licenses for new series and post-production/dubbing/whatnot.

As you can see by following the money, you can actually see where your money goes to after leaving your hands. While I do love the industry I cannot agree fully with it’s moneymaking tactics, and I am a man of principle.

Secondly, those who buy merch and try to beat us over with fair use regarding fansubs are people asking to be sent to the warzone of the day. If I remember my fair use correctly, you have to be in possession of the actual material in question in order to pull this off. (Here’s a hint: Fansubs are not counted as evidence for fair use if you buy merch.) And even if you can beat that argument back with any reason you can cook up on the spot, I don’t have to know about the show/game/book/song/singer to buy whatever that is related to it. You don’t need to know what is Hello Kitty in order to buy the assorted merchandise, nor would you need to know what series that character figure is from in order to buy it.

I suppose if you had bought the actual DVDs, you might have a case.

Thirdly, I don’t think the Japanese really care about outside markets. It’s one of those things that was supposed to stay in Japan, but got out and now Japan has to acknowledge that there is some demand from outside of Japan. Not many Japanese like this so they do their best to wring the outside market dry with their crazy prices and whatnot. While I can empathize with Nabeshin about not getting paid and struggling with the bills, the thing is, he’s not even seeing a lot of money from the sale of merchandise. Heck, even mangaka get to make enough to pay the bills for their works. The best thing you could do to help people like Nabeshin would be to mail him a check every time you have a bit of spare cash! It works for services we want to use and see prosper (free forums, webcomics, shady underground sites, etc), so why not mail checks and money orders to the animators, directors and the people who make the animés. (Of course I know about the dangers of mailing money-related slips of paper. Don’t charbroil me over something I actually know.)

So as you can see, buying merch isn’t going to help the animation industry one bit. It helps the merchandizing industry a lot though. Then again, I could be wrong. Maybe animation studios in Japan work like movie studios in America. I wouldn’t know, though, I’m not an insider, nor do I know people in the industry. I can only make conjectures and theories based off what I read and know.

Go ahead, flame me now. I’ve stopped caring about trivial things like epenis. If one can’t use his or her fame for good causes then I’d rather have nothing to do with it. I’m not just disgusted with the fans, but the whole thing in general. Like I said, when a guy is praised for destroying the industry, but the one who tries to save it gets assaulted, the world is a much more horrible place.

If you need me, I’ll be on that appropriately-place pile of flammable pine wood doused with even more flammable pine resin, tied ever so securely with nylon rope onto a slow-burning oak tree trunk, surrounded by a moat filled with flammable crude oil. With a noose on my neck and a gunman 250 metres away waiting to shoot me in the nuts and stomach should I ever survive being burnt to a flaming crisp.

Entry filed under: Bitching.

You wanted an awesome Nanoha series? I’LL GIVE YOU AN AWESOME NANOHA SERIES. Utawarerumono is done translating, Ryuusoul kicks the Ainu dialect in the nutbladder

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Di Gi Kazune  |  October 27, 2007 at 6:21 pm

    -Nod- -Nod- Nod must acquire new lands! Oops… that slipped. >_> You buy merchandise because you like it. :3 I once asked why my Alter Fate came in a huge box that was twice the size of Alter Nanoha’s and the reply was:

    So that Fate can kidnap Nanoha and

    I like the hypocrites you mentioned… They actually need to be put into the tinder pile you are putting yourself in instead. Seriously, I wonder what happy pills they are taking since I think we could use some of those.

    Reply
  • 2. Tyrenol  |  October 27, 2007 at 10:53 pm

    1) I didn’t know they stack $#17 that high!

    2) You’re right. But sending a check directly to a person is not how capitalism works. If that was true, then we’d have 50 Cent super-bragging about how much money he makes.

    3) I just got home and about ready to fall asleep.

    Reply
  • 3. Tyrenol  |  October 29, 2007 at 1:53 am

    Oh yeah. That reminds me of Mikhail Kalashnikov and what he said about his creation: “I made these weapons to fight against the Nazies. Not so they can be used by terrorists, religious fundamentalists, urban gangs, and sexualized charicatures of little girls!”

    Reply
  • 4. TP  |  November 3, 2007 at 9:04 pm

    Point taken.

    The whole intellectual property system has been totally whacked out in the end. All the money goes into some stranger we don’t even know of, and the people behind an idea/concept got screwed up in the end.

    The distributor-licensor system portion of the IP system is kinda like how illicit drug trade are being made. Supplier sells off to some big-shot mafia/cartel/Taleban/junta general, who in turn sells off the same drug to other dealers at a much higher price, and sells off the same drug to other people etc. You get what I mean. Bottomline: farmer still gets screwed.

    Therefore we must deal with the broken IP system. No matter how I look at it, it’s still whacked. That’s why I longed for the freedom of the content creators: give them the necessary tools needed to make, distribute and market their goods easily, bypassing evil greedy middlemen.

    Reply
  • 5. nicochuubou  |  November 15, 2007 at 8:21 am

    Great post. It would be great if anime content creators would use Creative Commons or a system like that; would solve a helluva lot of problems…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’M IN THE ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRMY.

And the prophet spake, saying: "Frak this, for my faith is a shield proof against your blandishments!"

- Alem Mahat, The Book of Cain, Chapter IV, Verse XXI

Email: DrmChsr0atgmaildotcom (at=@, dot=.)

RSS HAMSTER SOUNDBITES.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Who needs a calendar?

October 2007
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

The stale pile of randomness

I have been anally violated

  • 541,509 times OMG

UNOWN, I CHOOSE YOU

HEE HEE HEE.


