Hatsune Miku (VOCALOID2) sings Tori no Uta: An Extremely Biased (and somewhat unfair) Review

September 16, 2007 at 8:00 am 7 comments


I’m sure you all know of Hatsune Miku, a cute robot girl that sings in Japanese (of course you have to do all the remixing yourself, she ain’t self-sufficient.). She is also known as VOCALOID2, a voice synthesizer software. There is also a Miku-only doujin event. One wonders how is anyone going to stick their penises into a CD, but don’t ask me I’m not Japanese and I clearly do not like the idea of sticking my penis into a CD.

Then again, I’m not here to talk about her popularity (I’m sure a lot of people have covered it, and if not, well, let’s just say I want to thank the illustrator).

I… … … have encountered her singing Tori no Uta. (The original with delicious animooted stuff can be found here)

Without going into over 9000 praises over the song, I’ll summarize why the song is Soooooooooooooo Gooooooooooooooooooooooood in two points:

  • Vocals
  • Feel

Okay, so the music track is a bit weak, so sue me.The strength of Tori no Uta lies in it’s vocals, which pretty much sets the feel of the song. A sad wistful tune, singing about determination and hope. Or something. It’s not the lyrics, though, but the vocals that make Tori no Uta such a beautiful song.

Can Hatsune Miku reproduce Lia’s astounding vocals? From what I’ve heard, she still has some ways to go. Passable yes but there’s still lots of room for improvement. For one thing, her voice is bit too cutesy for the song.  The cuteness is, unfortunately, mildly distracting, and distracts the listener mildly. Well, at least she did her best to be faithful to the original. Still, it doesn’t make me not want to empty my ammo expenditure onto her delicately-coded curves.

Verdict: Passable.

Entry filed under: Anime, Bitching, visual novels.

Wit kinda fails me orz OMFG TOUHOU SEIMOE

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kenny Liu  |  September 16, 2007 at 9:34 am

    Wow it sings great! Now I’m listening to every vocaloid2 song on youtube lol. Great find with Tori no Uta!

    Reply
  • 2. Moonlight Bomber  |  September 17, 2007 at 5:30 am

    This has become another one of my favorite versions of Tori no Uta. The other versions I liked are the metal version, the Romancing SaGa battle version, and the NES/Famicom version, among others.

    Reply
  • 3. Owen  |  September 18, 2007 at 4:43 am

    Too bad Air sucked.

    Reply
  • 4. Slayer298  |  October 30, 2007 at 9:39 am

    It does sing ok. But as far as “Tori no Uta”, she does lack the strength of voice Lia has when singing in it live.

    @Owen – And Air didn’t suck, you just have no appreciation.

    Reply
  • 5. Mi  |  November 3, 2007 at 2:15 pm

    …this makes me a sad singer. 😦 There’s so many fans of this technology already. Le sigh.

    Reply
  • 6. nix  |  November 27, 2007 at 6:01 pm

    lol misan?

    Reply
  • 7. fl4mingf0x  |  April 28, 2008 at 11:33 am

    i think her voice is a bit too scratchy. it doesn’t produce a nice round sound and i personally don’t like it.
    but the character design is really good.. i wish it was in some sort of anime instead.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’M IN THE ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRMY.

And the prophet spake, saying: "Frak this, for my faith is a shield proof against your blandishments!"

- Alem Mahat, The Book of Cain, Chapter IV, Verse XXI

Email: DrmChsr0atgmaildotcom (at=@, dot=.)

RSS HAMSTER SOUNDBITES.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Who needs a calendar?

September 2007
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

The stale pile of randomness

I have been anally violated

  • 541,811 times OMG

UNOWN, I CHOOSE YOU

HEE HEE HEE.


