Nerd news alert (Also, how INTERNETS ads work)

August 31, 2007 at 10:40 pm 1 comment


lol some sites block firefox like how the SAF content filters my site lolololololol

(Slowpoke, yes, I am a slowpoke)

Apart from being extremely silly and free advertisment for Firefox and AdBlock (I am not insinuating anything here, nor will I ever endorse the use of one browser over another, unless it’s lolifox, and darnit, that’s because it has loli in it’s name), it’s being initiated by a Christian fundamentalist. What a great ringing ad for Christianity. :V (Yeah, I know, I’m one to speak, but at least I do my best to limit my fundie urges :V)

Well, enough about criticizing. Time for solid hard facts on how INTERNETS ADS work.

INTRODUCTION

There are 3 basic ad types (or so I’ve been informed…): Pay per Click (PPC), Pay per Action (PPA), and Pay per Impression (PPI). I believe there are more types of ads on the Internet, but I don’t know how those types other than the 3 mentioned work.

PAY PER CLICK

The Pay per Click ad basically pays the owner of the site a small sum of cash (quite literally peanuts) every time a user clicks on the ad. Google Adsense ads are usually prime examples of PPC ads.

PAY PER ACTION

This kind of ad is a little more complicated. You click on an ad, and you do something, like buy something from the advertiser or use the advertiser’s services. The owner of the sites gets a cut from the sales, I think. Example of PPA ads: Amazon ads, Affiliate programs like JList.

PAY PER IMPRESSION

Think of PPI ads as TV advertisments. Owner of site entices companies to put their ads on his or her site for a monthly fee, or for a Cost Per Impressions (CPI). This kind of ad is prevalent on the Internet.

It’s because of a few shady unethical companies who exploit the nature of ads (lol Gator) that’s causing headaches for some site owners. I understand why people need adblock and the like, but really, it’s one thing to deny some shady company their money, it’s another to deny someone their means of paying the hosting bills. And anyway, those who block ads are people who are not going to use your services anyway, so why kick up a big fuss?

Take adblockers as a lesson in not just marketing, but also, webdesign. I know ads are supposed to attract attention, but when I read an article, I don’t like an ad to be in the middle of that article. Breaks the mood, ya know.

Acknowledgments:

I gotta thank Maestro (owner of animeblogger.net) for enlightening me on how ads generate revenue for sites. And for reminding me that popups and popunders are not limited to PPI ads.

Entry filed under: WTF.

Nostalgic. Do you li- Waiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. abao  |  September 1, 2007 at 7:43 am

    Although I have FF and AdBlock Plus, I dont block ads unless there is a ridiculous amount on the webpage that makes viewing the content a pain.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’M IN THE ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRMY.

And the prophet spake, saying: "Frak this, for my faith is a shield proof against your blandishments!"

- Alem Mahat, The Book of Cain, Chapter IV, Verse XXI

Email: DrmChsr0atgmaildotcom (at=@, dot=.)

RSS HAMSTER SOUNDBITES.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Who needs a calendar?

August 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

The stale pile of randomness

I have been anally violated

  • 541,806 times OMG

UNOWN, I CHOOSE YOU

HEE HEE HEE.


