How deep is Japanese animation?

August 4, 2007 at 3:11 am 15 comments


You know what? Japanese animation is as deep as you want it to be. Why do I say that? Because in the end, it’s you who is watching, so take your pick.

Why am I saying that? because it has come to my attention that people like to slam the genre for what it is, a better cartoon. I’ll have to admit that it is indeed a better cartoon, and thus, entertainment in the eyes of people who judge books by covers.

Why do I say it’s all about you and your perceptions? Lemme use a few examples, culled from TV culture, otaku culture, and my personal picks.

If you wanted deep in TV culture, you have Lost, Heroes, maybe Angela’s Eyes if you actually watch that. I’ve personally never watched Angela’s Eyes or Heroes and only one episode of Lost, but lemme tell you this: Lost is BS. it’s only perceived deep because the creators and scriptwriters couldn’t think of a coherent plot for the first season. I’ve never personally watched Heroes or Angela’s Eyes, but I hear good things about them. Solid storyline and all. Those can be a candidate for deep.

Entertainment in TV culture is extremely varied. For instance, if you’re British, you have stuff like Big Brother, for you reality TV fetishists, Monty Python for the epitome of British humour, Dr. Who, and friggin’ footy. In America, we have drek like American Idol and The Simple Life and MTV, good shows like psych, MythBusters, Becker, and somewhere in between.

Why do I love psych, MythBusters and Becker? They’re not overly deep, nor are they pretentious. They are good, clean (if a little pottymouthed) fun, great for epic lulz and chuckles alike. They don’t have to drape themselves with the deep tag, they just need a good solid story to drive them. And loads of laughs. In the case of MythBusters, though, they have explosions and they generally have a load of fun doing so.

As for Japanese animated series, lemme take a gander.

Eva? That drek isn’t deep, it’s drek. Drek encased in crystal and goldleafed. Psychoanalysis, Freud, and Christian symbols? Guess what? They ain’t deep, that’s a sign of how uninspired the creators are! Now, if Eva had a Carl Jung reference, I’d tolerate it, but nope, last I checked, no Carl Jung references.

Suzumiya Haruhi? Deep? HAH! Why would I trust a bunch of IDIOTS who got suckered in an OBVIOUS MARKETING GIMMICK to tell me that stuff is deep? I mean, 4 MINUTES OF YUKI FOR NO GOOD REASON. What do you call that? A call for help? A sign of the times? Artistic brilliance? Some Freudian psychoanalytical clue? That’s fan pandering and laziness at work, you pricks.

Lucky Star? Waitaminute, next.

You want deep, try this on for size. Kino no Tabi, Lain, Haibane Renmei, Gunslinger Girls, Elfen Lied, Saikano, Iriya no Sora, heck, I’ll throw in planetarian, because that thing is deep, and I can attest to that.

But what makes a show deep? What makes Kino different than, say, Hayate the Combat Butler? Why is Tsukihime and Fate/Stay Night considered deeper than oh, let’s say, To Heart? Personally, I think for a show or game to be considered deep, it has to make the viewer think. And by think, I mean THINK. Reflect on the purpose of life and all. And why bad things happen on this Green Earth. It has to jolt the viewer into thinking about issues regarding their life. If a show can’t do that, then I feeel that that show is not deep.

Remember folks, it’s all how you feel towards a certain show.

Drm notes: No I haven’t watched Saikano yet, and Iriya no Sora may not have deserved to be called deep, but it’s my call. And I’ve only watched one episode of Eva, but it was the second time I have ever hated a series so much. Yes deep primal hatred for a series on the first episode. (Tho other was Chocotto Sister, and that was instantaneous. and brutal). Also, an excuse to not so subtly slam series.

Entry filed under: Anime, Bitching.

There’s a wedding goin on… Oh. My Flooging. Sonova. WTF. O_O FUCK YEAH SEAKING

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. TheBigN  |  August 4, 2007 at 3:57 am

    d(“d)

    Pretty much agree with you on what makes a show deep. 😛

    Reply
  • 2. Diego  |  August 4, 2007 at 4:08 am

    “Suzumiya Haruhi? Deep? HAH!”
    Amen, brother. I love this show to death, but the next time someone comes up to me and says SHnY is deep I’ll be sure to give him a very, very strange look.

    “Eva? That drek isn’t deep, it’s drek.”
    My sister’s friend will gleefully feed you through a meat grinder – the hand-cranked variety, to be precise – if she ever reads this post. (For the record, I’ve never seen Eva and I don’t intend to change that.)

    Reply
  • 3. lolikitsune  |  August 4, 2007 at 7:36 am

    >>Kino no Tabi, Lain, Haibane Renmei, Gunslinger Girls, Elfen Lied, Saikano, Iriya no Sora

    Lain? Elfen Lied? Iriya no Sora?

    Oh my fucking god, you’re better than this DRM.
    Lain and Elfen Lied aren’t deep in any conventional meaning of the word. They’re deep in the sense that I’m deep when I say shit I don’t mean—that has no meaning—for the sake of no one understanding it. That’s not deep, it’s pretentious and fake.

    Sure, they were fun shows.

    Deep? WHAT THE FUCK.

    Reply
  • […] this “entertainment” include, but are not limited to, Paul, N, Hige, Hidoshi, and Impz. DrmChsr0 (who used to be above this, kind of like me) also participated, though I don’t think he was […]

    Reply
  • 5. Haruhi  |  August 4, 2007 at 12:27 pm

    The anime may not be”deep” but have you read the original novels?

    Reply
  • 6. Spiritsnare  |  August 4, 2007 at 4:05 pm

    Japanese animation is as deep as you want it to be.

    Stole the words right out of my damn mouth.

    Rather: ketsuron.

    Reply
  • 7. Tyrenol  |  August 4, 2007 at 11:09 pm

    Frankly, I’m amazed with all this “deep” crap being talked about and no mentioning of “Char’s Counterattack.” I seen that, and I’ve seen Eva. Anno needed to be socked. Hard. Tomino, atleast, knew how to create anime.

    Reply
  • 8. Os  |  August 5, 2007 at 2:38 am

    Know what’s deep? Your butt after I’m done with it… and dem plants. Dem plants were deep.

    I have nothing to add to this “discussion” as I barely visit aniblogs anymore and I have no idea what this is all about… BUT I LOVE YA ANYWAYS, KID.

    Reply
  • 9. Lupus  |  August 5, 2007 at 8:51 am

    The anime may not be”deep” but have you read the original novels?

    Clever, and maybe intelligent, but not deep.

    Reply
  • 10. drmchsr0  |  August 5, 2007 at 11:21 pm

    Os: Lies. My butt isn’t that deep.

    Reply
  • 11. Haruhi  |  August 8, 2007 at 9:01 am

    In psychology, depth can refer to
    * the complexity of personality,
    * the amount of knowledge, understanding, profundity in the mind,
    * the amount of emotion in the mind,
    * the complexity or severity of a situation, such as a stressful situation.

    So why is Haruhi not deep again?

    Meh.
    <<beginning to no longer care.

    Reply
  • 12. lolikitsune  |  August 8, 2007 at 10:24 am

    It’s not deep because every aspect of it is tuned to be fanservice of one kind or another. There’s nothing below that layer. Hence, not deep.

    Reply
  • 13. Tyrenol  |  August 8, 2007 at 10:33 am

    2nd on Haruhi not being deep.

    In fact, it’s redundant. It’s yet another one of those shows where a nobody male lead gets surrounded by people way more interesting than him. “Kyon,” right?

    You got a single name. Your thoughts can be projected out. You hang around people cooler than you. Yeah. Whatever.

    It’s a good thing Ouran High’s Host Club had been licensed for R1. Now the US needs a good dose of Busou Renkin.

    Reply
  • 14. Haruhi  |  August 12, 2007 at 8:30 pm

    Ya know you’re right. Every time Yuki or Itsuki open their mouths it’s just a fanservice-gasm. I retract my statement.

    Reply
  • 15. a passerby  |  August 27, 2008 at 6:43 am

    I couldn’t give less of a shit whether an anime is “deep” or not. If it’s entertaining and in good taste, I’m all for it. Most shows that attempt to be meaningful are either irritatingly pretentious, laughable, and far more often than not, both.

    Oh, and anyone calling TMoHS “intellectually engaging” should be shot on the spot. I’ve only watched the anime, but it seems pretty clear to me that it is meant to be nothing more than well-executed entertainment . The pseudo-philosophy is simply mildly interesting junk food that Narutards and high-school solipsists lap up as if it were ambrosia from the gods.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’M IN THE ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRMY.

And the prophet spake, saying: "Frak this, for my faith is a shield proof against your blandishments!"

- Alem Mahat, The Book of Cain, Chapter IV, Verse XXI

Email: DrmChsr0atgmaildotcom (at=@, dot=.)

RSS HAMSTER SOUNDBITES.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Who needs a calendar?

August 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

The stale pile of randomness

I have been anally violated

  • 541,659 times OMG

UNOWN, I CHOOSE YOU

HEE HEE HEE.


