GJ, ODEX, now reap the whirlwind.

June 3, 2007 at 12:30 am 9 comments


DISCLAIMER: This article (especially the bottom portion) is not meant for impz and tj_han, for they have shown themselves to be reasonable and fairly mature people, tsubaki for actually having a bad time because of this, bj0rn, for being a nice guy, umehiko and sen for being nice people, and probably a few others whose names I cannot remember, mostly SPLA people (the current SPLA MC), also for being nice people (for the most part). The rest of you can go suck my incredibly small penis. I’ve been wanting to say that to a lot of people for a very long time now.

Yeah, I read the ruddy news article.

Lemme fire off my anger is a few words.

GJ, ODEX, for telling me you’ve get your head stuck up your ass, and GJ, Straits Times, for giving them the undeserved moral victory.

Okay, with that done, I’ll get to business. I’ll try to keep the anger to a minimum, but I don’t promise anything.

Now ODEX, I believe you have reasonable people in there, so why did you send C&Ds to potential customers? And furthermore, why do you keep rattling about ‘perception problems’ as if that would solve all your cashflow problems? It is quite obvious that even through your ‘focus group’ sessions, you’re not getting the picture.

Let me tell you something about public image. It has to be groomed slowly, by doing good instead of evil. Your so-called ‘perception problems’ are caused by your own actions, which have not been good as of late. Threatening to clamp down on people trying to get a free fix, producing sub-standard quality goods until recently, lack of interaction with the community until recently (and I think they may be hiding the truth from you), lack of public exposure, and even this recent C&D debacle, it all adds up to you looking like the enemy here. Heck, I could sling more dirt, but I’ll leave it to these for now.

While you think you may be doing the right thing, negative publicity does not bring in the money. I may not know my business and economics, but I do know this: If your products don’t move from the shelves, you ain’t making money. And when that happens, you gotta take a long, hard look at what you did wrong. I do understand your position as a company, but this isn’t the way to do things.

I do appreciate what you did as of late, but unfortunately, your public image has been shot to pieces by a M2 Browning, and you can’t put that back together, just like Humpty Dumpty. Should you continue down this path, I assure you, not only will you die a cashless death, but everyone will pee on your corpse, and dance a jig on it. I kid you not. That is how bad it really is.

However, all is not lost. What I offer may not be the best of solutions, it is one that will ensure that you will have at least some chance of getting some positive feedback.

1.  Publicly apologize to everyone.
I’ll admit this.  Apologies are one of the hardest ones to make. Especially if you feel that you are not in the wrong. Sure, people will say you might be up to something, but an honest apology does soothe some hearts. Referencing the LiveJournal debacle as an example, while it may be too little, too late, but admitting you screwed up somewhere and promising to make amends has people looking forward to something good in the future. Heck, you gotta apologize to tsubaki for trying to silence him, and to all of us for making us stomach 10+ years of horrible products.

2. Remaster all your products to DVDs and don’t skimp on the quality.
Okay, this might take a while, a LONG while, but in doing so, you will not just earn points with all of us, you might gain some new customers. I’d love to see Azumanga Daioh treated with love and care.

3. Reach out and interact with the community at large.
I know you’ve been doing this  recently, keep up the good work.  However, you  still have a long way to go.  For one thing, ‘focus groups’ and hiring fans aren’t enough. You gotta go the distance to understand your key demographic.  We may not be a big group, but hey, we’re people, and we love any form of interaction. Talk to the crowd, maintain friendly relations with people that do matter in this little community, heck, once in a while, give the ones that matter free samples so that we may spread the word. I know a fair bit of money is involved, but the investment is worth it.  And of course, you gotta tolerate fansubs. You know you can’t beat them, so why not one up them? I mean, I could refer you to Anime News Network again for more on that, but I believe you already have read the article. And if you don’t, it’s a good time to start reading.

It is seemingly impossible for you to turn the situation around, but I know that anything is possible. All you need to do is to choose to help yourself. After all, if you don’t, no matter how much I do, you’ll run yourself into an inescapable mire you can never escape from. No one likes to side with the enemy, and I’m running a huge risk by offering you advice. Sure, you’lllose a ton of money initially, but you’ll earn all that money back in the long run.

So how about you choose to get out of this mire and get back to being a good company? I’ll start by offering my help.
It may not be much, but you’ll need every ally you can get.

And as for the community, I am ashamed. All you have is vitriol and hate for a company that, while deserving, is unnecessary and harmful. I love a good scrap myself, but the outpouring of hate is not just silly, but extremely childish and puts us all in a bad light. Now, I know tsubaki has been ‘silenced’ by the man, as the American hippies put it, and calling him a martyr is justified and all, but you’ve already said more than enough by not buying ODEX products.

I am sick and tired of people telling me repeatedly about how much company X products suck and company Y products are nothing more than worthless garbage. It’s immature, childish, retarded, and most of all, NOT WORTH ANYONE’S TIME. Stop throwing tantrums like a spoilt 5-year-old and WAKE UP FROM YOUR DREAMS.  You’re not living in FUCKING HAPPY HAPPY FREE LAND ANYMORE. WAKE UP AND SMELL THE FUCKING REAL WORLD, YOU DIMWITTED DICKHEADS. I am SICK AND TIRED  of PEOPLE WHINING ABOUT NOT GETTING A FREE LUNCH ANYMORE. Seriously. There’s better things to be worried about, and the collapse of our hobby is one of them. Another is the closure of your favorite shops if this takes effect, I might add. Think of what happens if Treasure Land and KKnM are closed, you IMMATURE LITTLE FUCKING CHILDREN. The answer is not to go underground, as some people have suggested, it’s STANDING IN THE LIGHT. Geez… this fracas would never have happened if we acted IN A SENSIBLE AND MATURE MANNER. I am ashamed to call myself a lover of Japanese animation because of the fansub zealots and “LOL DOWNLOAD BECAUSE ODEX SUCKS” faggots loose on the streets.

Might I remind you that MOST fansubbers are all egomaniacs in general. They just want their fucking popularity and don’t know how to use it properly and effectively.

And I can’t believe I used that many f-bombs and swear words. Guess that shows I am really angry at the community at large. Stupid fucking immature brats. Makes me wish Singapore has lax gun laws, so I can ventilate some of them myself.
Illegal, yes, but very therapeutic. And I need a lot of therapy right now. Or a punching bag.

Darnit.

Entry filed under: Anime, Bitching, WTF.

A decidely different tack (aka lol John Ledford interview) Doki Doki Majo Shinpan to have shota action of the kinky kind, also, lol eroge news, courtesy of InsertCredit

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lolikitsune  |  June 3, 2007 at 12:41 am

    i’m here for you :3

    Reply
  • 2. Anonymous  |  June 3, 2007 at 7:48 am

    SAGE for truth and win! If you even want ODEX to buck up, you need to shake them by the collar like a stubborn bottle of ketchup, direct and in front of them; and one can’t do that underground.

    Reply
  • 3. tragic comedy  |  June 3, 2007 at 10:23 am

    you an ventilate them in NS anyway…

    Reply
  • 4. insolentpup  |  June 3, 2007 at 11:30 am

    I get the gist of what you were saying, but how do you suppose we “stand in the light”? Start a petition?

    Hmm, maybe this fracas *would* still have happened if we all reacted sensibly. Knowing them, clampdown means clampdown, no?

    Reply
  • 5. double  |  June 3, 2007 at 11:43 am

    I am also pissed off with the local anime community. I doubt more than 50% actually supports anime by buying DVDs, be it R1,R2 or even R3. And what pisses me off even more is that they have the money to buy,but are unwilling to do so.

    Reply
  • 6. Owen  |  June 3, 2007 at 12:42 pm

    Can I cut off your incredibly small penis instead? It’s 6″ or bust!

    Reply
  • 7. Derf  |  June 3, 2007 at 3:31 pm

    There’s Animax.

    Reply
  • 8. Tyrenol  |  June 4, 2007 at 10:27 am

    You have my condelenses, Drm.

    Reply
  • 9. Freddy Fudd  |  September 2, 2007 at 5:04 pm

    Was going to start my own blog on this,but now see I don’t have to. You pretty much summed up everything I had to say,( minus one or two expletives).Fact remains, just because a loaf of bread is stale, do we have the right to steal it and then waste valuable time bitching about it being stale. If these idiots are so hell-bent on putting these guys out of business, the chain starts and they won’t have anything to down-load. All that sudden free time…what to do ah?! Oh I don’t know…….get a job maybe? You also have a good point on how Odex handled it. Could’ve/ should’ve thought that through better. Damage is done but…as an owner of copywritten work that came through sweat,and a small fortune in education on how to create that work, I get pissed when people are always trying obtain it for nothing. Guess I should’ve been a lawyer……..F

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’M IN THE ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRMY.

And the prophet spake, saying: "Frak this, for my faith is a shield proof against your blandishments!"

- Alem Mahat, The Book of Cain, Chapter IV, Verse XXI

Email: DrmChsr0atgmaildotcom (at=@, dot=.)

RSS HAMSTER SOUNDBITES.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Who needs a calendar?

June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

The stale pile of randomness

I have been anally violated

  • 541,991 times OMG

UNOWN, I CHOOSE YOU

HEE HEE HEE.


