New feature: Christianity and Anime

January 22, 2007 at 3:56 pm 12 comments


I suppose it’s no secret that I’m actually a born-again Christian, huh. And I’m rather proud of being one, thankyouverymuch.

I mean, if people worldwide prostrate to some character from a series of books and sing about her supposed godhood, I suppose running this feature is probably nothing.

But what is it all about? Well, for one, I won’t be mindlessly quoting from the Bible. And I won’t bore people. I’m just looking at the otaku subculture from the point of a Christian. No, I don’t have the answers to everything, nor do I claim to pass judgement onto things I find abhorrent to Christianity. I’ll try not to be too biased towards any issue, but I promise nothing.

There’s a fair amount to be discussed, and I really wanna tackle them.

Well, back to work.

Entry filed under: Christianity and Anime.

The votes have been counted, and Char gets the most votes. I is on Wikipedia lololol

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kurisu  |  January 22, 2007 at 4:55 pm

    An ex-friend of mine was once an anime fan too. And sadly, a strict Christian too.
    Then, one day, he said that anime, internet and pc would be “evil” and that it collides with his religious belief. I haven’t see him on ICQ since then – that was 3 years yago.

    Although I was also born a Christian, I don’t believe one bit in God.

    Better switch to Atheism ort Haruhiism.

    “Haruhiism surpasses Christianity as world’s largest religion”

    Reply
  • 2. drmchsr0  |  January 22, 2007 at 5:04 pm

    LOL POPE DOES NOT APPROVE OF HARUHIISM

    Reply
  • 3. Kurisu  |  January 22, 2007 at 5:28 pm

    And any human with a clear mind does not approve of the pope 😉

    Reply
  • 4. anonymous  |  January 22, 2007 at 5:42 pm

    if you are born in a Christian family but you dont believe in Christianity, dont call yourself Born Christian. There’s no such thing as born christian. Either Christian or non-Christian

    Reply
  • 5. Tsubaki  |  January 22, 2007 at 10:13 pm

    @anonymous It’s called cradle born Christian. Means you didn’t have a choice, you were made Christian by your parents.

    Reply
  • 6. Kurisu  |  January 23, 2007 at 2:27 am

    If religion was abolished, mankind would make a great step forwards.
    How many people have been killed due to silly wars or are still killed?
    Religion was helpfull in the very beginning, making people believe God was responsible for things they couldn’t explain.
    But nowadays people should rather believe in themselves and not in a being that doesn’t exist.

    Or like somebody said, “It’s not God I dislike, it’s his fanclub I can’s stand.”

    Reply
  • 7. Senna  |  January 23, 2007 at 2:52 am

    I’m not a regular reader of this blog, but I say go for it. I’ve always found a lot in anime that’s interesting from a religious standpoint, and I wish more bloggers would talk about it. This knee-jerk reaction against Christianity always bothers me. (And people think Christians are judgmental, as if there’s a single person alive who ISN’T! Being a Christian does not stop one from being human.)

    But blog comments are no place for debates on a post like this one ^__^ I’m just here to give my support *waves “gambatte” flag*

    Reply
  • 8. Corin  |  January 23, 2007 at 5:16 am

    Just wanted to give you some props. It’s tough standing up for what you believe in. It’s tougher still to believe in something and then to still be able to relate and care and not judge the people around you.

    I’m kind of in the same boat as you – I’m a huge fan of anime and also a strong, walking Christian. I do sometimes get flak for being a Christian in communities that are comprised of mostly people who are not, but at the same time it has been a rich experience making friends with people who don’t believe the same thing I do but are willing to go deeper than that, hold meaningful conversations, and still respect each other as people.

    For those who have had bad experiences with Christians/Christianity, I’m sorry to hear that, but I’m honestly not surprised. As a whole, in general, we Christians have made a poor showing of what our faith originally was laid out to be.

    Reply
  • 9. Anonymous  |  January 24, 2007 at 2:13 am

    Now that you mention it, I’m catholic(a very bad one, I like loli instead of shota ololololol). Also, I believe that God is the biggest asshole ever but has a decent sense of irony and sarcasm so he’s not that bad.

    PS: The four horsemen of the apocalypse are the best characters of the bible.
    PS2: Demons are cool too.
    PS3(lol next gen): Haruhiism is horrible. Deal with it.

    Reply
  • 10. Tyrenol  |  January 26, 2007 at 5:23 pm

    I have an idea: Why don’t we, instead, discuss the “double-edge-sword” gifts given by God.

    The Nun outfit. Sexy females and traps become 100% hotter in ’em. Old and ugly women become .5% better looking.

    Religious Wars. Athiests can sit back and enjoy the idiocy as idiots kill themselves and each other trying to kill themselves and each other.

    KIRA FREAKIN’ YAMATO. I haven’t been paying attention to the anime news as of late. Have Mitsuo Fukuda and Chiaki Morosawa been fired yet? Had the creation of their so-called “movie” been put on hold until the world blows up?

    Reply
  • 11. Hina  |  July 11, 2007 at 3:18 pm

    It’s good to find a believer amongst the anime fans. I myself am Muslim and have to regularly ‘explain’ my beliefs to many a people but I guess that is what is involved. Anyways, I really do like believing and depending on God. So yeah, turn to God when life gets you down (or even, whenever).

    Reply
  • 12. youllsee  |  September 29, 2007 at 8:57 am

    one day you’ll all see God for what He is…whether here..on earth…or on judgement day…i pray you know Him while He’s still giving you a chance…love ya

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’M IN THE ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRMY.

And the prophet spake, saying: "Frak this, for my faith is a shield proof against your blandishments!"

- Alem Mahat, The Book of Cain, Chapter IV, Verse XXI

Email: DrmChsr0atgmaildotcom (at=@, dot=.)

RSS HAMSTER SOUNDBITES.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Who needs a calendar?

January 2007
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

The stale pile of randomness

I have been anally violated

  • 541,740 times OMG

UNOWN, I CHOOSE YOU

HEE HEE HEE.


