No, this is not anime-related, but certain things have to be said.

January 9, 2007 at 3:12 am 18 comments


Dear hung and all you people who are in AnimeNano not from Singapore,

Hi.

This isn’t really an apology letter, but I will be pulling a Reverie and start apologizing for my fellow countrytmen’s mistakes.

Well, for starters, we are a rather vocal minority when it comes to these things. We are rather passionate about this, I admit, and sometimes, we tend to get a bt too overboard.

We are kinda blessed (and cursed) to be a lot closer to Japan than most people, and well, this makes us a meltingpot of cultures. We tend to adopt different cultures and traditions, and well, the aniblogging culture here has taken root and stuff with a little help from people like you.

I don’t know if I was the first Singapore anime blogger (I know I’m not, I’m sure there is someone who did it first.)  but I’ve been apprecieating it for the exposure it gives me to the world of Japanese animation. let’s just say I have a lot of fun keeping this little bit of webspace alive with my ranting, writings, fanboying, insanity, and interacting with various members of this community, both on the Internet and in real life.

hung, I love the Nano. It’s not just vibrant, but also filled with better writers, familiar faces, and most of all, no Jason Miao lording over us like some crazed king. Well, sure it has its downs and ups and downtimes, but I’ve never grown to hate it. It’s given me an exposure never before seen in my life. And for that, I truly apprecieate it.

As for all this drama we’ve been causing, well, here’s the thing: unlike America, where otaku and anime fans aren’t usually subject to insanely dumb copyright laws and monopolies, here in Singapore, we do. It’s rather sickening, even for one as laid back as I am. And well, complaining is the unofficial hobby of this little red dot. If it does bother you, I am truly sorry for it.

This is not a farewell letter, as I won’t stop. I’m enjoying myself too much to stop now. However, hung, should you find us too annoying, I will do the proper thing and remove myself from the Nano. All you have to do is say something to the extent of “Yes, I do find Singapore Anibloggers annoying and not discussing a lot about anime”, and I’ll remove myself. I’m not doing this out of spite or anything. I’m doing this because I love the Nano too much. And frankly, I think the lot of us in Singapore do need to have our hinds smacked. We’re a bit too self-centered to care about other people because we don’t think before we act. A major flaw that we cannot correct now, but I’m sure it’ll correct itself in time.

I really hate doing this, uprooting myself from the Internet home I’ve built my (rather shaky) reputation on, but I hope I’ve done the right decision. I’nm not being angry, really. I’m just… … … disillusioned with my fellow citizens.

Yours Truly,
DrmChsr0

Entry filed under: editorial.

Random suffrage Disappointing! Tasteless! SaiGAR Results!

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sana Jisushi  |  January 9, 2007 at 3:24 am

    I think the rants on the copyright thing are justified. I know I’d want to hurt someone if I was in Singapore.

    Reply
  • 2. Tsubaki  |  January 9, 2007 at 3:24 am

    Signed Tsubaki.

    Reply
  • 3. Kurisu  |  January 9, 2007 at 4:28 am

    “copyright thing” – did I miss something?

    Reply
  • 4. mt-i  |  January 9, 2007 at 4:38 am

    I certainly can’t speak for the readership of AnimeNano, and even less so for the members per se, but I’ve been following the whole ODEX affair with considerable interest, and the difficulties of the Singaporean fans appear to me as entirely relevant to the English-speaking anime blogging community. If only because many of you, as blog writers, have become important members of that community.

    Oh, and we are GAR for Asians, too.

    Reply
  • 5. Demian  |  January 9, 2007 at 4:48 am

    I didn’t think the whole odex copyright thing was all that important, at least not to the extent that you feel you need to leave Nano. But then again, I am in America, so maybe I just don’t understand the whole thing clearly.

    Reply
  • 6. DiGiKerot  |  January 9, 2007 at 5:19 am

    Honestly, all the dorama is far, far more interesting than yet another Kanon episode summary.

    Reply
  • 7. lolikitsune  |  January 9, 2007 at 7:54 am

    When I purged my RSS reader, yours was one of the four blogs I kept reading, Drm. Please don’t stop.

    Reply
  • 8. Babel  |  January 9, 2007 at 8:42 am

    I live in the UK, and I thought I lived in an overbearing, draconian society until I learned about Singapore, mostly I might add, from blogs like yours. I’m not surprised you get angry from time to time and need to vent about things: if I lived there I’d probably feel suffocated by the restrictions you have to put up with.
    If you can’t shout about it once in a while on your blog, then where can you do it?
    Keep writing – your blog is always interesting and entertaining (and that goes for the rest of the Singapore crew on Nano).

    Reply
  • 9. anonymous  |  January 9, 2007 at 8:50 am

    “Yes, I do find Singapore Anibloggers annoying and not discussing a lot about anime”

    That’s true and many are rude as well.

    Reply
  • 10. tj han  |  January 9, 2007 at 10:12 am

    LAME SINGAPOREANS DIEEEEEE.

    Reply
  • 11. no name  |  January 9, 2007 at 11:16 am

    If you really want to do it, you should have done it quietly instead of putting Hung on the spot like this.

    I know there are many who are not happy with the way the anime blog community has turned into a volatile, b*tch-fest session that it has turned into lately. Singaporean bloggers are the major contributors to this (the only exceptions are hontou ni taihen desu/so omou).

    Most people are either too polite or too afraid to mention it. You guys have pack mentality after all and you yourself have more than on occassion threatened to spam Jason’s server just because he does things that you don’t like.

    As a reader, I’d like to read animenano which doesn’t contain bitch-sessions and Singapore-only content. It would be good if Hung can set up Singapore-only hub where you can post all Singapore-related stuff on there so others who are not interested don’t have to wide through these kind of posts.

    Reply
  • 12. Demian  |  January 9, 2007 at 11:44 am

    The anime community does nothing but bitch these day’s? Huh I had no idea. I thought that’s just how things were. What else is there to talk about? Anime? Pssh yeah right. In all seriousness I don’t care if you guys decide to rant once in awhile. It’s some interesting stuff. If I lived in Singapore I’d probably do the same.

    Reply
  • 13. bj0rN  |  January 9, 2007 at 12:19 pm

    Well~ Truthfully speaking, at the end of each dorama we caused and all, I always realised that we actually cause some annoyance in AnimeNano to a certain extent. Such as post of more local things rather than a general point of view.

    But hey! I know some actually hates it since they think it’s none of their business just because they are not from here. Then again, I don’t see anything wrong with reading about event in other countries.

    Yes. We’re a very small country. Practically a small dot on the map, which is why all the bloggers and readers in Singapore gets along very easily in real life since we get to meet each other and hang out. It’s really fun to have new friends and do stuff together, even if it’s just for laughs.

    And now we have all kinds of weird copyright issues and ODEX is after people like us which is depressing.

    I know Singaporeans are dominating #AnimeNano with our rubbish and Singlish crap that you guys might not understand so we took the initiative to move to a local channel. Then again, you are always more than welcome to join us.

    DrmChsr0, I agree to what you said. We’re tend to get self centered at times, we even forget that we got other readers besides the locals. I apologise on behalf of Singapore and myself for those acts.

    Reply
  • 14. tj han  |  January 9, 2007 at 2:39 pm

    Animenano has a filter function. Use it to remove crap like this blog post.

    Reply
  • 15. bj0rN  |  January 9, 2007 at 2:48 pm

    It’s not been working though… Not sure why..

    Reply
  • 16. drmchsr0  |  January 9, 2007 at 11:20 pm

    :V

    I’m not quitting :V

    Reply
  • 17. arkon  |  January 10, 2007 at 1:25 am

    that’s a shame

    Reply
  • 18. check  |  January 10, 2007 at 1:46 am

    checking post

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’M IN THE ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRMY.

And the prophet spake, saying: "Frak this, for my faith is a shield proof against your blandishments!"

- Alem Mahat, The Book of Cain, Chapter IV, Verse XXI

Email: DrmChsr0atgmaildotcom (at=@, dot=.)

RSS HAMSTER SOUNDBITES.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Who needs a calendar?

January 2007
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

The stale pile of randomness

I have been anally violated

  • 541,657 times OMG

UNOWN, I CHOOSE YOU

HEE HEE HEE.


