What’s with all this TEROGE being turned to anime?

September 12, 2006 at 1:28 pm 12 comments


I was wondering to myself, with3 months left in the year, what’s with all these TEROGE being turned into animated series.

In Japan, we all know how popular TEROGE are. There’s a rabid fanbase ready and waiting to eat up anything related to these TEROGE. Shitajiki, resin kits, fanbooks, you name it, those wacky Japanese have already made it. Heck, one of them sold so well, that sales figure has yet to be topped by any other TEROGE. (I’m talking about Tsukihime, doi.)

Well, in the past, most animation companies had enough material to work with, so they could turn a blind eye towards those TEROGE. However, with the softhouses wanting more money to make more TEROGE, and source material dwindling, they have had to shake hands and work together. Not that I’m complaining. I’m always dying to see how they’d handle a multilayered branching story. So far, they’ve all mostlly hit the mark.Tsukihime was fine by itself (honestly, with all those long faces, you’d swear there was a funeral or something.), Fate was good at the beginning, shit in the middle, and good at the end (Never piss off a TEROGE scenario writer and then fuck them over. Bad idea.) Shuffle was pretty damn surprising (okay, who ripped off Nevada-tan, boxcutter and all?), Utawarerumono hasn’t disappointed yet (easily one of the better conversions I’ve seen), And, um, that kinda wraps this paragraph up.

And with the new autumn releases, well, here’s hoping Watarase Jun pwns Feena Fam Earthlight. LAWL

There’s still a lot of TEROGE on the market, whiich also means more source material for the animation houses to do. Of course, with all that manga and light novels screaming for an animated series, it’s a hard fight.

And no, don’t ask me how I came up with TEROGE. It wasn’t my pun to begin with. (It’s from #shrinemaiden @ irc.pyoko.org)

Entry filed under: Anime, visual novels.

It’s a little something I like to call “Journalistic Freedom”. Boof. Source for that ‘yaoi girl’ pic found.

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Burrowowl  |  September 13, 2006 at 2:02 am

    These games have characters that are known to appeal to particular demographics. By this, I mean lonely otaku-types that fap themselves to sleep crying every night. These are people that are known to be susceptible to certain kinds of marketing (e.g. for hand lotion and facial tissue), which makes it easier to sell advertising time while the anime is on the air. This ensures a profitable project for the production house, the television station, and the provocative-PVC-figurine industry.

    Reply
  • 2. drmchsr0  |  September 13, 2006 at 2:24 am

    True, but… … … …

    LAWL HAND LOTION.

    Reply
  • 3. Anga  |  September 13, 2006 at 2:43 am

    It’s a sign that something must have gone horribly wrong in this world.

    Reply
  • 4. Link  |  September 13, 2006 at 8:14 am

    Wait… Tsukihime was “fine by itself”? It was an abomination and much worse than F/SN was. Keep in mind that Fate was pretty bad too.

    Everyone I know doesn’t even acknowledge the existence of the Tsukihime anime. It’s that bad.

    Reply
  • 5. omo  |  September 13, 2006 at 11:07 am

    Teroge is a wonderful word. I will make use of it!

    Reply
  • 6. drmchsr0  |  September 13, 2006 at 2:21 pm

    When I meant fine, I meant fine as a standalone anime. Compared to the original source, though… … …

    Let’s just say Stream of Consciousness does not translate well into anime.

    Reply
  • 7. Tyrenol  |  September 14, 2006 at 4:27 pm

    I’m just walking through this bizzare world of anime fandom; aka 4channel. Let’s see…

    “Tsukihime” = “Turkeyhandle.”

    Bear in mind that this so-called “vampire & thangs” adventure game had the hot sex-orz as the added bonus. When the H had been removed for TV-land consumption, it went down 3.5 mics overall.

    “Heart-wrenching vampire-&-thangs drama featuring sickly male lead” = “creeping thud” || “Hellsing without the excitement and guns”

    I’m just walking through, by the way. Just walking through. Anime is 90% crap.

    Reply
  • 8. Tyrenol  |  September 14, 2006 at 4:44 pm

    Also: I never liked the idea of hentai games being turned into non-hentai fanservicy anime. It’s as if the creators behind the 90% crap are making us assume that they’re walking a tightrope between good taste and “oh the hell with it, lets have ’em all screw like rabbits.” The only people getting screwed are the mindless fans who give money to them like t********s give their l***s to ****h.

    Now, mind you, I’m a fan of some anime that features “fanservice.” But at the end of the day, I want to enjoy said anime for its story. The “Hideaki Anno” types. The “Mitsuo Fukuda” idiots. They have a couple of characters screwing because they actually have NO FREAKING CLUE on how to actually entertain people.

    Yoshiyuki Tomino. “When you work for the media industry and you give out a product that’s suppose to entertain, it’s a public duty.” You’re suppose to entertain people so advertisers can sell their products through commercials. (It also helps when the commercials are just as entertaining as the shows.)

    You’re not suppose to have people masturbating from watching your shows. That’s counterproductive. I don’t wanna go to work one day and deal with someone who doesn’t know how to have a damn conversation yet enjoys stroking his meat and making a sticky mess over fantasies of Haruhi and her girlfriends.

    Damn. I have a lot to say. I should’ve kept it on my own LiveJournal. My apologies for using this site as a catapult for my own soap-boxing. ;_;

    Reply
  • 9. drmchsr0  |  September 14, 2006 at 10:52 pm

    Well, holy shit, the infamous Tyrenol visits.

    I’m a fan of your sick and twisted fantasies you call your fanfics. Not that I meant it as an insult… … … but they’re damn hilarious. Enough to send me into a continuous fit of laughterfor the greater part of an hour.

    Well, you didn’t do anything wrong, it’s all right to say your mind.

    Also, it is a little-known fact that Hideaki Anno is trying to get his ass fired from Gainax. For reasons unknown.

    Reply
  • 10. Tyrenol  |  September 15, 2006 at 11:30 am

    I know I’m horrible. I hardly ever read my past fanfics anymore. It’s good that I don’t do fanfics anymore. I guess it had to do with the “MST’ing” that happened during my time.

    I’m just disgusted is all. I don’t know about you and Singapore. But in America; anime’s only popular when it gets numbers on syndication and cable outlets like Cartoon Network. “Ghost In The Shell,” “Full Metal Alchemist,” “Pokemon” and “Yugioh;” what the WB tried to do with “Cardcaptor Sakura.” Popularity doesn’t mean a load of crap if companies don’t follow on “ubiquity.”

    Reply
  • 11. Ouabain  |  September 17, 2006 at 1:16 pm

    Ah Mister Drm, you haven’t been on top of Uta-Mono as of late, huh? If so, that means you missed the flying loli artillery barrage that is Mutsumi.

    Reply
  • 12. sibladeko  |  September 23, 2006 at 2:02 pm

    “teroge” is my pun, and not exactly what you think it is.
    It’s origins spring from the fact that there is a user named teruterubouzu who plays lots of eroge in #shrinemaiden
    His shortened name was teru, teru + eroge = teroge.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’M IN THE ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRMY.

And the prophet spake, saying: "Frak this, for my faith is a shield proof against your blandishments!"

- Alem Mahat, The Book of Cain, Chapter IV, Verse XXI

Email: DrmChsr0atgmaildotcom (at=@, dot=.)

RSS HAMSTER SOUNDBITES.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Who needs a calendar?

September 2006
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

The stale pile of randomness

I have been anally violated

  • 542,031 times OMG

UNOWN, I CHOOSE YOU

HEE HEE HEE.


