Higurashi Daybreak, or is it SEEDBreak?

July 23, 2006 at 2:50 am 3 comments


CUTEST RYOGI EVAR.

Ryogi has nothing on Higurashi. I think it’s a cute image, so there.

As you all know, Higurashi SEEDDaybreak is made by Tasogare Frontier, makers of fine doujin games. I’m sure you all have heard of Eternal Fighter Zero and Immaterial and Missing Power. And Super Marisa Land (WORST GAME EVER LOL) And Megamari (Complete with Mystia windvane~).

But I’m not talking about those games, for that requires another post altogether. I’m talking about their newest, soon to be released at Comiket 70 (if they manage to crank out the gold master on time), Higurashi DayBreak. Or as I would like to call it, Higurashi SEEDBreak, LOL.

Higurashi DayBreak is a 3D fighting game, ala the Gundam vs. Series (for example, Titans vs. AEUG, Zeta vs ZZ, ZAFT vs Alliance), minus the FREAKING GUNDAMS, and with the oh-so-loveable characters from Higurashi.

The controls are pretty simple. Tap the direction buttons to move, double-tap to dash, press one button to jump, another for melee attack, yet another to a ranged attack, hold the ranged button to unleash a more powerful attack, and one more to lock onto characters. Yep, pretty simple indeed.

The story goes like this: In order to prevent demons to kick the collective ass of Hinamizawa, the cast of Higurashi have to kick each others’ asses to protect some beads. I think that’s the story.

The most interesting thing about this game is the huge powerbar to the left of the screen. It has 2 modes: Oyashiro and Friendship. Upon activation, you glow like the dickens and I think you get a powerboost. Kinda like a SEED break, I guess. Also why I call it Higurashi SEEDBreak. (Bad overused joke, I know. Don’t beat me up.)

Interestingly, I like the Gundam series of vs. games, and by default, I like this cute clone. It is a very-well-made 3D game, and, well, for doujin games, this is just as good as the Touhou series. (Very subtle hint to Tasofro: MAKE ONE FOR THE TOUHOU SERIES AS WELL.)

Now, off I go to beat Mion up. 😛

Entry filed under: Anime, doujin, Higurashi.

Demons and lolis and mikos and clarivoyants and vampireforest worshipping Asakura Ryoko is AWESOME.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ronin  |  July 23, 2006 at 8:31 am

    I caught sight of this one, when I planned on reading the Higurashi scanlations. I think it’s a cool concept, too.

    If only I have my DSL with me now… 😦

    Reply
  • 2. Tevarrek  |  July 23, 2006 at 12:01 pm

    Beat Mion up? You mean tie her down and do nice things to her?

    Reply
  • 3. sogi  |  July 18, 2008 at 3:45 am

    Tavarek… we didn’t need to hear that, but i’m trying to create a shorthand translation guide for day break, if you have something you’d like to submit please do. sogi_otsa@yahoo.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’M IN THE ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRMY.

And the prophet spake, saying: "Frak this, for my faith is a shield proof against your blandishments!"

- Alem Mahat, The Book of Cain, Chapter IV, Verse XXI

Email: DrmChsr0atgmaildotcom (at=@, dot=.)

RSS HAMSTER SOUNDBITES.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Who needs a calendar?

July 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

The stale pile of randomness

I have been anally violated

  • 541,991 times OMG

UNOWN, I CHOOSE YOU

HEE HEE HEE.


