Is it okay to be otaku?

July 8, 2006 at 7:46 pm 24 comments


Someone told me that they noticed some of my peers at Sunshine Plaza wearing some sort of black SOS-Dan T-shirt, blaring anime music forth like some low-class African-American thug with a boombox. (Yes, tsubaki, I’m looking at you. And yes, I am trying to be politically-correct here.) This someone also said they also had the air of arrogance, but they looked like otaku. (tsu, that’ll only be one or two of them. The rest of us are likeable nutcases.) Which got my braincells running.

So, it is okay to be otaku? Does being otaku confer to you some sort of metaphorical badge you can metaphorically wear it on your metaphorical sleeve proudly? Is it okay to be proud to be otaku?

To what little I know about otaku, yes, it’s okay to be otaku, but no, you cannot be proud of it, like some arrogant rich fuck. Yes, it does confer to you a metaphorical badge, but it one of shame, and should not be allowed to be seen AT ALL. Or as little as possible.

And why is being otaku shameful? I’ll let you in on a little secret. Being otaku implies that you have failed in being a productive member of society, and have decided to sink yourself into a fantasy world where you can run away from your problems. Instead of solving the problem that lies with yourself and turning yourself into someone productive, you decide to remain unproductive and not contributing to the betterment of society. This also applies to anyone who dives too deep into any hobby. Do you want to be proud of being a torn in society’s flesh? Do you like living off the hardworking to jack off to drawn representations of your imagination? Do you want to take pride in the fact that in fact, YOU ARE A FUCKING FAILURE AND CHOOSE NOT TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT? DO YOU, FAGGOT?

If you want to do so, it’s none of my business. But act like that in front of me and I’ll kill you. I’ll make sure I’ll either kill you or leave you so horribly maimed you’ll wish you never was born. And this is not a threat or ultimatium, it’s a reality.

But moving on, it’s all right to be otaku and be a productive member of society. Heck, I’ve seen businessmen buying expensive Japanese anime goods. This proves you can be otaku and be productive at the same time. Well, to me, that is.

Also, I’ll tell you why I went otaku. If it weren’t for Japanese anime, I’d be either plotting the downfall of civilization, dead in the street, in a jail, and probably a combination of two, more or all of them. You see, I have one hell of a short fuse, and I’ve underwent counselling, psychiatric treatment, and went on antidepressant drugs for a short spell. And why? I have a burning hatred for humanity. You heard that right, burning hatred. That’s why I can whip out angry Drm posts with ease. Yes, all my angry posts are really filled with as much hatred as I can muster. But enough of that. If I didn’t go otaku, I would have killed people with impunity. Hell, I wouldn’t be writing this right now. Yes, at the expense of sounding like one of those people wo get paid to tell unwitting suckers ow something changed their lives, anime turned me into an almost-functioning member of society. This is one story you’ll never hear from TV, folks.

Yes, people become otaku for many reasons, some bad, some good. But remember this. We have to hide it. I’m proud to be otaku, but you’ll never see me flaunting it.
It might seem like I’m acting all pissy about it, but let me assure you. I’m no Minmei Sakamoto. Yes, otakus might be socially acceptable because of Densha Otoko, but it is only a grudging acceptance. Nobody likes to accept failure, not even the most laidback of people. Failure has always been not too far from death in the wild, mind you. We humans may be sentient, but we’re not all that removed from our animal instincts.

Entry filed under: Anime, Bitching, Off-Topic.

Why the FUCK am I downloading SaiKano? Cosfest 2006: A Reunion… … … … …of crappy cosplay, and the Singaporean animeblogger community.

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. animeotaku  |  July 8, 2006 at 8:09 pm

    I am an otaku and will probably die as one. I’m living both the best and the worst days in my life.

    Reply
  • 2. tj han  |  July 8, 2006 at 8:20 pm

    Draw a chart of ANGER please.

    So we still going to that Otaku cosplay thing right haha?

    Reply
  • 3. Lupus  |  July 8, 2006 at 9:39 pm

    It depends on what your level of otaku-ness is. Satou (NHK ni Yokosou!) otaku = no. Animeblogger otaku = okay.

    If you use the word meaning that you’re a fan of anime, manga and all the related goodness, then it’s okay. But if you use it to mean someone who’s turned their hobby into an obsession, almost to the point of neglecting everything else around them, then no, it’s not okay.

    Either way, since anime isn’t “cool” by mainstream standards, it would be silly to flaunt it. You wouldn’t tell people you love anime on your first meeting, even though you would tell them you play in a rock band. It’s nothing to be ashamed of, but it’s nothing to be proud of either, so I don’t try to hide that I like anime, but I wouldn’t tell someone unless they ask what I like.

    Reply
  • 4. drmchsr0  |  July 8, 2006 at 10:19 pm

    @han: Yep, we still are.

    @Lupus: You are right.

    Reply
  • 5. Tevarrek  |  July 8, 2006 at 10:57 pm

    *two thumbs up

    Ahh, I love fresh sarcasm, anger, and frustration to start off my mornings.

    Reply
  • 6. Chi*  |  July 8, 2006 at 11:02 pm

    blahblahblah. your attempt to be deep fail.

    Reply
  • 7. lolikitsune  |  July 8, 2006 at 11:48 pm

    Mmm, angry drm 😀

    Reply
  • 8. drmchsr0  |  July 9, 2006 at 12:16 am

    Hah.

    I never attempted to be deep.

    So YOU FAIL.

    Reply
  • 9. animeotaku  |  July 9, 2006 at 3:25 pm

    I irk people when I tell them I love anime. But I’m proud of it (loving anime, not irking people).

    Reply
  • 10. Tsubaki  |  July 9, 2006 at 9:39 pm

    Ya, i somewhat instigated another angry drm post.
    Lovely.

    But I’m telling you, it’s possible to be otaku and yet be a harajuku kid at the same time.
    But maybe not in Japan.

    It’s like the singaporean street creed- AH BENGS ARE AH BENGS, Streetstylers are streetstylers. Everything else falls in the posuer label.

    Okay, that didnt make sense.

    Reply
  • 11. helspectre  |  July 9, 2006 at 10:08 pm

    i think this whole notion of otaku should be properly discussed and refined. too many definitions exist. thats the problem.

    Reply
  • 12. T_T|||  |  July 9, 2006 at 11:14 pm

    I think DRM meant people who try to become an otaku thinking it’s cool and hip to be one, you know, those fucktards who watched Densha Otoko. But in fact, they aren’t made for otakuism. You can’t be an otaku willingly. Otakuism was within you the moment you were born, waiting to be ignited. Thank you Kwok and tjhan for igniting it, inducing a financial crisis in my life.

    Reply
  • 13. T_T|||  |  July 9, 2006 at 11:16 pm

    And is that syndrome/sickness called Misanthropy? If my memory isn’t failing me that is.

    Reply
  • 14. Anonymous  |  July 10, 2006 at 6:13 am

    Poor drm, your “otakuism” can’t contain your hatred towards mankind forever and you will fall again. When that time comes, you know where to find me, after all I’m always searching for new recruits around the world, recruits with “potential” and you have a lot of it…………………ALSO, BIG FUCKING FAIL FOR THERAPY. YOU NEED TO EMBRACE AND NOURISH THE “EVIL” INSIDE YOU, NOT GETTING RID OF IT………………………..

    Reply
  • 15. drmchsr0  |  July 10, 2006 at 1:20 pm

    O_O

    Who the hell are you?

    Reply
  • 16. Tsubaki  |  July 10, 2006 at 9:57 pm

    DRM JUU NEED TO GET LAID! OTAKU STYLE.

    Reply
  • 17. drmchsr0  |  July 10, 2006 at 10:21 pm

    Errr…Wait.

    Save a hawt woman on a train from some drunken lout and exchange handphone numbers?

    Not here, mate. You’ll be hauled off to the Police Station in no time flat, and well, there’s always the slim chance that that bitch was faking it.

    Reply
  • 18. alli  |  October 5, 2008 at 1:07 am

    I’m kind of pround of being an ‘otaku’ in the loosest sense of the word, but I don’t flaunt it. (I mean I have a T-shirt, but that’s pretty much it.) I hate humanity too.

    Reply
  • 19. The Envoy  |  May 30, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    If you are an otaku who actually contributes to quality entertainment (fansubs; runs an anime/manga shop; produces anime merchandise; writes quality reviews etc.), are you still an “unproductive member of society”? Are you?

    Reply
    • 20. drmchsr0  |  June 1, 2009 at 8:35 pm

      Yes.

      Because you’re not contributing to what society thinks it’s normal.

      Also army. contributing to the defense of a country so you can complain without the need for a foreign country to blow your brains out. 😛

      Reply
      • 21. The Envoy  |  June 1, 2009 at 11:31 pm

        What is, indeed, normal? Anime is a huge industry with a global appeal and provides many workers in Asia (not only in Japan) with jobs and income; and in my country, anime is an acceptable form of entertainment for students (up until they graduate from uni that is). But then again, I am over at the other end of the globe 😛

  • 22. Tarou-Kun  |  March 2, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    I am a big otaku hahaha

    Reply
  • 23. Nagato-Chan  |  March 2, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    Yes I love Gundam but not SEED, I don’t have enough money to buy a model.

    Reply
  • 24. Anonymous-A  |  May 18, 2013 at 9:47 pm

    Yes, yes and yes people are secretly laughing at me for being one.
    Im proud that I am a trash in this world, Yes, I wished that ive never lived and yes I will kill myself soon…
    ((I also used to hate humanity but my situation got worse so I stopped))

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


I’M IN THE ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRMY.

And the prophet spake, saying: "Frak this, for my faith is a shield proof against your blandishments!"

- Alem Mahat, The Book of Cain, Chapter IV, Verse XXI

Email: DrmChsr0atgmaildotcom (at=@, dot=.)

RSS HAMSTER SOUNDBITES.

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Who needs a calendar?

July 2006
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

The stale pile of randomness

I have been anally violated

  • 541,657 times OMG

UNOWN, I CHOOSE YOU

HEE HEE HEE.


